ARTH 100/WRIT 107: The Power of Images: An Introduction to Art and its Histories: Find Articles

• is a Google-like search of many of our library resources.
• can be a good place to start your library research and discover information on any topic.
• contains information for over a half a billion sources including books, book chapters, eBooks, journal and newspaper articles, government documents, maps, music recordings, videos, and more.

Because SuperSearch contains so much content from so many different kinds of sources, the results can sometimes be overwhelming and hard to focus. At the same time, SuperSearch doesn't contain everything the library has, so it can miss key sources. To search with more focus, precision, and depth, try some of the databases and other resources recommended on this guide.

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the specialized databases recommended in this guide.

SuperSearch:

Databases can contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and/or citation information about articles, book chapters, or books. 

Why should I use a library database?

• Not everything can be found in SuperSearch! Articles and books in some databases don't show up in SuperSearch.  
• Databases are often specialized by subject area (such as literature, art history, sociology, etc.).
  • Searching in subject-specific databases focuses your search and helps you find more relevant sources. 
  • Subject-specific databases often offer special filters or search features designed to help researchers in that subject find what they need.
    • For example, in a history database, you might be able to limit your results to those covering a particular historical period.
• Databases contain information not available through general internet search engines (such as Google).
  • Many articles that are usually behind paywalls can be accessed through library databases. Wellesley College subscribes to over 300 different databases!

• Art Full Text  

   Articles from an international array of publications covering topics in art and architectural history, archaeology, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, urban design, photography, costume design, film, non-western art and more.

• ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) 

  Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti.