Find Articles - CHEM 308 - Natural Products - Library Research Guides at Wellesley College

Key Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of international journals, conference proceedings, and other scholarly literature, with a primary focus on STEM and social sciences. Article references are included in the record. Search by author, affiliation, topic and more, and search to see who cited a particular article.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacology, biotechnology, environmental science, toxicology, and medicine worldwide. Searching by chemical structure available.
Requires one-time registration

PubChem
Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and contains over 7,180 million records, 63 million structures, and 1 million BioAssays.

TOXNET This link opens in a new window
A network of U.S. National Library of Medicine databases on toxicology and environmental health.

General Search Tips

Boolean Operators

AND - combines search terms so that each search result contains all of the terms. For example, education AND technology finds articles that contain both terms.
OR - combines search terms so that each search result contains at least one of the terms. For example, education OR technology finds results that contain either term.
NOT - excludes terms so that each search result does not contain any of the terms that follow it. For example, education NOT technology finds results that contain the term education but not the term technology.

Truncation

In many catalogs and databases, truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *.

For example, type comput* to find the words compute, computes, computer, computing, computation, etc..

Types of Articles

Scholarly Journals	Magazines	Trade Publications	Newspapers
Report thorough description of original research or theories. Generally scrutinized by a panel of subject experts (peer review) before publishing.	Provide information, news, opinions, entertainment to the general public on a broad array of topics.	Provide practical information for members of a profession, industry, or organization: news, trends, products, and research summaries.	Cover breaking news, news analysis, and feature stories.

Scholarly Journals

Magazines

Trade Publications

Newspapers