Library Research Guides: REL/JWST 106: Queer Bible: Queer Theories

Finding Book Reviews

SuperSearch is a great way to find book reviews! You can search for a specific book or an author in the search, then select "reviews" from the source types list to filter the results.

Use Google Scholar to Find Newer Research

When you know the name of a book or article, you can trace citations forward to find newer scholarship that cites that source.

Go to Google Scholar
Do a search for your source
Click "Cited By" to see works in Google Scholar that have cited your source

You can also search within the "Cited by" results to find sources that mention a particular work or other keyword. Just click on "Cited by," enter a term or phrase in the search box, and check the "Search within citing articles" box before running your search.

Finding Biographies, Context, and Commentaries

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Set of encyclopedias and handbooks on many topics. Try searching for your theorist or a theory they are known for coining, engaging in, or writing about.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search encyclopedias for theorists and topics. These articles tend to have great bibliographies.
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Look for biographies of theorists here. Not all the theorists on your syllabus will be represented, but some will.

Try searching SuperSearch for non-peer reviewed commentaries of a scholar's life, work, controversies, and contributions.

Type in the theorist's name and filter for newspapers and magazines in the results.

Finding Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find bibliographies by searching for a theorist, theory, or general topic. Entries are annotated and placed into context, grouped by topic and theme.