Library Research Guides: MES/REL 261: Cities in the Islamic World: In Class Activities

1. Appointments

Click here to make an appointment with me to chat about finding sources or citing them!:

2. Oxford Bibliographies key terms

Type architecture AND Islamic into the search box in this database to start this activity in class:

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies are research guides in a variety of subject areas. Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship across a wide variety of topics.

Add terms you expected to see and terms that are new to you in the jamboard here:

https://jamboard.google.com/d/1fjl2sXMMFmAKUrqwlxgZln3EwQbTo9ve3Yw3NFqCHOw/edit?usp=sharing

3. Finding Scholarly Sources

Part 1:

Browse the Oxford Bibliographies entry we used earlier, take a look at the studies by region, and choose one. Browse that bibliography and write the region you chose along with a secondary source from the bibliography on the jamboard.

Part 2:

Pick a city in the region you chose in part 1. Use our key terms from activity 1 along with the region you chose in part 1 of activity 2 to do a search for peer reviewed articles or books in one of the following databases:

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of books and index of journal articles on Islam and the Muslim world, 1906 to present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on world history from 1450, excluding US & Canada, written since 1955. Can be co-searched with America: History & Life
A&AePortal (Art & Architecture ePortal) This link opens in a new window
Key backlist and out-of-print scholarly works in art and architectural history from Yale University Press, Art Institute of Chicago, MIT Press, Yale University Art Gallery, Harvard University Press, Harvard Art Museum and more. The portal allows users to search and browse images by artist, title, or date.