Library Research Guides: ARTH 328: Dining with Michelangelo: Home

Art Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Art Library, Jewett Art Center
Phone: 781-283-3258

Subjects: Art & Architecture, Media Arts & Sciences

Getty Research Portal

The Getty Research Portal is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications (including rare books, foundational literatures, and periodicals) for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.

A&AePortal (Art & Architecture ePortal)

Explore the A&AePortal!
Online collection of key backlist and out-of-print scholarly works in the fields of art and architectural history from Yale University Press, Art Institute of Chicago, MIT Press, Yale University Art Gallery, Harvard University Press, Harvard Art Museum and more. The portal allows the user to browse all images (by artist, title, or date).

SuperSearch

Databases

Databases contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A bibliographical and multilingual database of Middle Ages & Renaissance materials (400-1700) from over 500 journals, 1859 to present · contents
Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Major ongoing international bibliography covering all aspects of classical studies from prehistory to the Middle Ages, published in English, French, German, Italian, or Spanish.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles on women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, 450-1500 C.E.

History

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, book chapters, and books on historical subjects (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

Literature & Arts

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find books, book chapters, and articles on topics in languages, literature (including film), folklore, and linguistics, in many languages, including French. Limited full-text.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and full-text critical analysis of authors from all genres and eras.

Online Chaucer Bibliography
The Online Chaucer Bibliography includes materials from the Annotated Chaucer Bibliography published annually in Studies in the Age of Chaucer and is sponsored by the NCS and the library of the University of Texas at San Antonio. (Note: "Title" searching is searching for the beginning of the title, not for keywords in the title. Do not use Boolean AND/OR.)

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts major English-language art periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in many foreign languages.

Multidisciplinary

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database that contains full-text access to scholarly collection of journals that cover the major disciplines, including language and literature. JSTOR does not contain the most recent issues (previous 5 years), many of which you can find in Project Muse.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles from scholarly & popular publications in all disciplines.

Science & Social Science Databases

Biodiversity Heritage Library

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences (1898-present) physical & life sciences (1899 to present), and arts & humanities (1975 to present). Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Articles in all fields of medicine and biomedicine, with abstracts and links to additional resources from the National Library of Medicine, 1950 to present.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
STEM articles from 1986 to present, from hundreds of journals in both the applied and general sciences.
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of articles, books, and working papers on economics, 1969 to present, with full text for 400 journals.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology, 1952 to present.

Helpful Websites

The Food Bibliography
Materials for researchers in the field of food history. The bibliography contains over 20,000 records. Special attention has been devoted to areas that are not usually covered by other databases: articles in journals, papers in conference proceedings, etc. A collaboration between: European Institute for Food Culture and History & The Harvard University Center for Italian Renaissance Studies. Citations only; no full text.
Digital Gastronomic Library (Academia Barilla)
This site is home to real masterpieces from the history of Italian gastronomy. The books are currently available to the public at the on-site library in the Academia Barilla Culinary Center. Academia Barilla has published a series of the collection in digital format, allowing people to view the books freely online.

Key Journals

Food, Culture, & Society: an international peer-reviewed publication dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy.

Gastronomica: publishes academic scholarship on food cultures for a public that is increasingly interested in questions of food, gastronomy, and the culinary arts.

Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry covers research dealing with the chemistry and biochemistry of agriculture and food including work with chemistry and/or biochemistry as a major component combined with biological/sensory/nutritional/toxicological evaluation related to agriculture and/or food.

Reference Sources

Proceedings to the Oxford Symposium on Food and Cookery
Volumes from Symposia prior to the most recent three years are now available on Google Books and as free downloads on this site.

The Cambridge World History of Food by Kenneth F. Kiple (Editor); Kriemhild Conee Ornelas (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849722285
Publication Date: 2007
Food History Almanac by Janet Clarkson
Publication Date: 2013
Food by Jean-Louis Flandrin (Editor); Massimo Montanari (Editor); Albert Sonnenfeld (Translator)
Publication Date: 1999
From gluttony to enlightenment: the world of taste in early modern Europe by Viktoria von Hoffmann
Publication Date: 2016
Eating Right in the Renaissance by Ken Albala
Publication Date: 2002
Domestication of Plants in the Old World by Daniel Zohary; Maria Hopf; Ehud Weiss
Call Number: Clapp Library GN799.A4 Z64 2012
ISBN: 9780199549061
Publication Date: 2012
The Living Fields by Jack Rodney Harlan
Call Number: Clapp Library GN799.A4 H37 1995
ISBN: 0521401127
Publication Date: 1995