Library Research Guides: ARTH 110Y: Michelangelo: Artist and Myth: Start Here!

Context is Key

Try using a specialized reference work to get started with your research.

Encyclopedias are great, authoritative (I'm looking at you, Wikipedia) ways to understand more about a topic and find some places to look next.

Browse one of these works to spark a paper topic or use one to look up the context of a term or technology from your readings.

Search Oxford Art Online

The most authoritative and extensive encyclopedia for Art is Grove Art Online (available through Oxford Art Online) .

Includes:

About SuperSearch

SuperSearch...

is a Google-like search of library resources.
is a good place to start your library research and discover information on any topic.
simultaneously searches the Wellesley College Library Catalog along with electronic books, journals, and databases.
indexes over a half a billion sources including books, book chapters, eBooks, journal and newspaper articles, government documents, maps, music recordings, videos and more.
features continue to improve, and content is being added regularly.
is powered by EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS).

Use SuperSearch

try SuperSearch
Comments or questions? AskUs!
More info in the Library Systems FAQ.

Oxford Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Oxford Bibliographies are research guides in a variety of subject areas. Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship across a wide variety of topics.

Other Encyclopedias/Dictionaries

Europe, 1450-1789: encyclopedia of the early modern world by Jonathan Dewald
ISBN: 068431200X
Encyclopedia of the Black Death by Joseph P. Byrne
ISBN: 9781598842548

Getty Research Portal

The Getty Research Portal is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications (including rare books, foundational literatures, and periodicals) for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.