Library Research Guides: WGST 221: Gender, Race, and the Carceral State: Find Internet Resources

Government, NGO, and Think Tank Sources

Think Tank Search
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses.

Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Full-text public policy documents from think tanks, NGOs, and research organizations.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.

Prison Policy Initiative
"The non-profit, non-partisan Prison Policy Initiative produces cutting edge research to expose the broader harm of mass criminalization, and then sparks advocacy campaigns to create a more just society."
Center for Prison Reform
Includes policy resources and advocacy programs on prison reform.
The Freedom Archives: Prisons
"The Freedom Archives contains over 12,000 hours of audio and video recordings which date from the late-1960s to the mid-90s. The Scope of this collection includes audio, video and a variety of paper materials all pertaining to prisons and the struggle against them. This is an extremely broad collection with a wealth of knowledge from many prison organizations, both inside and outside, active from c. 1970 to present."

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Interactive maps exploring U.S. census, socioeconomic, and demographic data over time and across different, neighborhoods, cities, counties, states, and other geographies.
Dates: 1790 CE-present

Justice & Crime

Bureau of Justice Statistics Data Analysis Tools
Jail Data Initiative
County-level data on admissions and releases from 2019-present. Data may include inmate gender, race, crime, and other details.
Juvenile Court Statistics
Census of Juveniles in Residential Placement
"CJRP asks all juvenile residential facilities in the United States to describe each person younger than 21 assigned a bed in the facility on the census date as a result of a status or delinquency offense. Facilities report individual-level information on gender, date of birth, race, placement authority, most serious offense charged, court adjudication status, and admission date."
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS)
SPLC Hate Map
The Southern Poverty Law Center's map of hate groups in the U.S. You can view the data in map format or download it to perform analyses.
Uniform Crime Reports
US Sentencing Commission
Data files from the US Sentencing Commission on federal sentencing practices. Files include data on individual offenders, organizational offenders, special collections, and special reports.
UN Surveys on Crime Trends
2023 Punishment Beyond Prisons
Data on probation, state jails, parole, and more.

Women

WomanStats Project
Qualitative and quantitative information on over 300 indicators of women's status in 174 countries. First time users must register. Use the codebook to define the variable.