Library Research Guides: AMST 315: Beats, Rhymes, and Life: Get Started

Your Music Librarian

Carol Lubkowski

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Music Library, Jewett Art Center

Phone: 781-283-2076

Subjects: Music

Reference Collections

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary research tool that allows you to search hundreds of reference works simultaneously, including limiting to audio or visual materials.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search across encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 100 reference books in all disciplines published by Oxford University Press

Context & Overviews

Provide a general overview of your topic
Often written by scholars in the field
Can lead you to other sources

St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture (e-book)
Examines the history and contributions of hip hop to American and global culture, including the music, dance, and visual arts that are its artistic expressions. Entries also examine hip hop's influence in other arenas such as fashion, film, and poetry; its impact on education, politics, social activism, racial and ethnic identity, and globalization; and its many contributions to American, urban, black, and Latino cultures. (2018)
Hip Hop Movement: From R&B and the Civil Rights Movement to Rap and the Hip Hop Generation (e-book) by Reiland Rabaka
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip Hop Culture
Call Number: Music Ref ML102.R27 B96 2006
This encyclopedia examines the four elements of Hip Hop Culture: MC-ing or rapping, B-boying or breakdancing, Deejaying, and Graffiti art.
That's the Joint! The Hip Hop Studies Reader by Mark Anthony Neal (Editor); Murray Forman (Editor)
Call Number: Music: ML3531 .T43 2012
Critical Minded: New Approaches to Hip Hop Studies by Ellie M. Hisama (Editor); Evan Rapport (Editor)
Call Number: Music: ML3531 .C75 2005
The Hip Hop Generation: Young Blacks and the Crisis in African American Culture by Bakari Kitwana
Call Number: Clapp: E185.86 .K58 2003
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Ruth M. Stone (Editor)
Call Number: Music: ML100 .G16 1998
Publication Date: 1997
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin
Call Number: Music: ML102.P66 G84 1998
Publication Date: 1998
The Vibe History of Hip Hop by Alan Light (Editor); Vibe Magazine Staff
Call Number: Music: ML3531 .V53 1999
Publication Date: 1999
The Record Players: DJ Revolutionaries by Bill Brewster; Frank Broughton
Call Number: Music Library ML3534 .B74 2010
Vibrant oral history of the rise of the DJ culture that includes songs lists, discographies, and photos. (2011)

Your American Studies Librarian

Karen Storz

Email Me

Contact:

781-283-3372
kstorz@wellesley.edu

Research & Instruction Librarian
Office: Clapp Library 218B

Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences, Comparative Literature, East Asian Languages & Cultures, East Asian Studies, English, German & German Cultural Studies, Italian Studies, Latin American Studies, Portuguese, Russian & Russian Area Studies, Spanish

SEARCH OXFORD MUSIC ONLINE

The most authoritative and extensive encyclopedia for music is Grove Music Online, now available through Oxford Music Online.

Gateway to Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference works, with more than 20,000 subject entries and 30,000 biographies, covering all genres of music.

MUSIC GUIDE

Need help finding music? Check out this awesome guide!!