Scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years of many journals.
Books and journal articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
Full-text scholarly articles in all disciplines.
Full-text articles from key journals in the humanities and social sciences, published from 1861 to the early 2000s, most of which are peer-reviewed.
Authoritative biographies of historically significant figures and present-day newsmakers from every field—media, sports, politics, religion, medicine, and more. Find biographies by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, or gender.
Dates: 3000 BCE-Present
Hundreds of full-text academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources for introductions to topics, definitions, or factual information. Includes subject-specific titles from art, literature, education, science, religion, history and more.
Scholarly articles on topics in anthropology, archaeology, religion, history, literature, art, music, theatre, communications & mass media, international relations, law, sociology, economics, political science, gender studies, psychology, environmental studies, and more, published from 1907 to 1984. Includes reviews of books published in this period.
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of American and Canadian history, prehistory to present and searchable by historical time period.
Peer-reviewed articles, scholarly books, and academic theses published from 1859 to present on all aspects of medieval and Renaissance life (400 CE to 1700 CE).
Dates: 1859 CE-Present
Journal articles, book reviews, and essays from books on women, sexuality and gender (including masculinity and male homosexuality) in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East.
Dates: 450-1500 CE
Journal articles, reports, and commentaries on anthropology, ethnology, folklore, and archaeology.
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on gender, sex, and sexuality in history, sociology, psychology, education, art, and more.
Resources, including peer reviewed and news articles, on the military, government, and armed conflict. Covers international and U.S. topics.
Peer-reviewed articles, books, and book chapters on East, Southeast, and South Asia, and overseas Asian communities. In English and other Western languages.
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
Peer reviewed articles and books on all aspects of philosophy.
Peer reviewed articles and books on Islamic theology, law, and history.
Comprehensive collection of international journals, conference proceedings, and other scholarly literature, with a primary focus on STEM and social sciences. Article references are included in the record. Search by author, affiliation, topic and more, and search to see who cited a particular article.
Peer reviewed articles on all aspects of religion, with an emphasis on Christianity, Judaism, and Islam. Also searchable by Hebrew Bible and New Testament scripture.
