Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital South Asia Library
Thorough resource with primary, secondary, statistical sources, and more.
The Long Emergency
The government of India declared a national emergency citing internal instability in June 1975. This site brings together oral histories, videos, government documents, newspaper articles, political cartoons, and more on the event and the time surrounding it.
1947 Partition Archive
"Our flagship oral history project has helped shed light on Partition by recording and preserving over 9,000 memories of Partition witnesses."
UK National Archives: The Road to Partition 1939-1947
This document collection relates to India and the struggle for independence and the road to partition 1939-1947. The documents come from a range of British Government departments. These include documents from the Prime Minister’s office (PREM), Cabinet Papers (CAB), Foreign Office (FO), War Office (WO), Dominions Office (DO), and the Ministry of Information (INF). Finally the collection includes contemporary articles by the British and foreign press.
British Library: South Asia
We have rich resources for the study of South Asia past and present. Archive includes records of the East India Company, printed periodicals and books in European and South Asian languages, and pre-colonial manuscripts.
Internet Indian History Sourcebook
Links to online archives, digitized texts, educational sites, and more from the Indus Valley cultures to present.
Asia Since 1900 Sourcebook
Primary sources from India, China, Japan, Korea, Vietnam, and others.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1994 This link opens in a new window
English-language archive of translations of foreign scientific technical, and social science reports, radio broadcasts, news briefs, speeches, and more with an emphasis on Communist and developing countries.
South Asian emphasis on Communist perspectives and issues from within and without South Asia, 1957-1995.
Confidential Print: India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region. The files address these events from the standpoint of British officialdom.
India, Raj, and Empire
"The History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947. The material comprises diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works."
DCD (India) Digital Colonial Documents
"The Digital Colonial Documents Project (India) is intended to promote study of the rare seminal documents which were influential in the formation of the notions of nation, state and culture during the colonial period. The project makes available rare colonial documents as searchable internet documents."
South Asia Open Archives
"SAOA's collection currently contains hundreds of thousands of pages of books, journals, newspapers, census data, magazines, and documents, with particular focus on social & economic history, literature, women & gender, and caste & social structure."
Sources on slavery in the Medieval period across the world, browsable by region and century. Includes digitized resources on the site as well as a bibliography of sources found elsewhere.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new window
Broadcasts, news agency transmissions, and government statements from around the globe translated into English, 1941-1996.
Guardian and the Observer (UK), 1791-2003 This link opens in a new window
Digitized full-text of the British newspaper The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003). Can be used for historical sources on colonial South Asia.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of art, architecture, and other forms of visual culture from around the world, from museums, archaeology, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference works, dating from B.C.E. to present.
Requires creation of an Artstor account to download images. This account also grants you off-campus access for 60 days. If your account is inactivated or you need to create an account, make sure to use a library link (such as this one) to get to Artstor so that you will be recognized as a Wellesley user.
Centre of South Asian Studies Film
"Most of the material we hold is 16mm or 8mm home movies, taken between 1911 and 1956, which give a unique perspective of life in South Asia towards the end of the British Empire and in the first years of independence."
The Process of Partition, 1947
A map index of how India transformed from princely states and British colonial rule to india now post-partition.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The historical map collection has over 87,000 maps and related images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific, Arctic, Antarctic, and the World.
Perry Castañeda Library Map Collection
Over 44,000 map images of the Library's 250,000 map collection have been scanned. From the University of Texas.