Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this guide to find digitized historical maps. The collections are searchable and downloadable.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Digitized, searchable books and magazines mostly published before 1923. Includes printed volumes of court records, reprinted older books, and more.
Wellesley Archives and Special Collections
We have access to many resources right here in Clapp, including older books and newer sources that can be found in SuperSearch!
College Women is a searchable portal of diaries, letters, scrapbooks and photographs from the archives of a select group of the earliest women’s colleges in the United States, the Seven Sisters.
Finding Primary Sources at Wellesley
Wellesley has access to many resources you can use as evidence in your papers and projects.
One tool you can use at the start of your research is SuperSearch, which looks through databases as well as the materials we have in the library itself. Enter a search, then using the filters on the left-hand side of the results page to narrow by material type (eg newspaper article, image, etc) and date (a date range helps to find a primary source in the scope of your topic!).
Help! I don't speak the language of my sources!
Q: I don't read Latin/Old High German/Medieval Arabic/etc. How can I find sources in English?
A: You're in luck! There are many resources in English right here in the library and online. Click the links in the grey and white box for some of the larger ones. To find even more, perhaps on a specific topic, try finding one by beginning at a more generalized topic.
For example, I searched in SuperSearch for medieval sources and found Medieval worlds: a sourcebook. In SuperSearch, you can click on the details button (pictured below) and scroll to see the genre and subjects listed. These subjects are clickable and may lead you to similar resources. Try clicking on them to find more sources in translation!
Major Digitized Archival Collections
Library of Congress
Digital images, documents, maps, and more. Focused on American history.
Digital Public Library of America
Discover 30,371,414 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
World Digital Library
Digitized books and manuscripts from the Middle East and North Africa.
Internet History Sourcebooks
Links to documents and sites with primary sources on ancient and modern history, organized by region, time period, and occasionally theme.
NYPL Digital Collections
Features prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. Focused on American history.
Explore historical collections from libraries, museums, and archives across Massachusetts.
World Digital Library
Sort digital objects by time, place, and theme.