Library Research Guides: BISC 107: Stem Cells in Regenerative Medicine: In Class Activities

1. Consultations

Click the button below to make an appointment with me to chat about finding sources or citing them correctly. (Optional but recommended!)

Reading Scientific Articles
Reading scholarly articles takes patience and practice--here are some tips for learning to navigate these sources!

Web of Science
Comprehensive collection of international journals, conference proceedings, and other scholarly literature, with a primary focus on STEM and social sciences. Article references are included in the record. Search by author, affiliation, topic and more, and search to see who cited a particular article.
Nexis Uni
News sources (newspapers, online magazines, blogs, and websites) from the U.S. and abroad.
US Newsstream
One of the largest full text collections of newspapers from the United States, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires. Includes The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.
Dates: 1985 CE-Present

Search Tips:
When searching in a database, spelling matters!

Unlike search engines, a database will not correct your typos and spelling mistakes.
If you get zero results, first check that you spelled your keywords correctly.

Use quotation marks for phrase searching

If you are searching for multiple words or a phrase, like social media, put those words within a set of quotation marks in the search box.
If you search social media, instead of "social media" most databases will search social and media as separate keywords

Use truncation to search for various endings

Other factors:

Use Boolean Operators to connect your search terms.
Plural and singular nouns usually do not matter.
Capitalization usually does not matter.
Spaces between letters or words might matter.
Especially in acronyms or the names of medication or viruses or molecules or organisms
Bowerbird vs “Bower Bird” both are valid terms and return results in database