Skip to main content
Research Guides

AMST 264: Histories of Asian American Labor & Immigration

Welcome!

This guide provides some useful starting places and strategies for doing research for this course. I'm happy to consult with you on any aspect of your research, from developing a research question to finding, evaluating, and citing sources. Email me or make a calendar Zoom appointment

Get Started with SuperSearch

SuperSearch can be a great place to start your search for journal articles, books, films, newspaper & magazine articles, and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface. You can use the filters on the results screen to refine your search and improve your results. For example, try limiting to Full Text Online, and then Book/eBook to see e-books. Or choose Peer-Reviewed Article to find scholarly journal articles, or Encyclopedia Articles & More to find background sources. Click More... to see all content types.

 

Because SuperSearch contains so much content from so many different kinds of sources, the results can sometimes be overwhelming and hard to focus. At the same time, SuperSearch is also not comprehensive and can miss key sources. To search with more focus, precision, and depth, be sure to try the databases recommended on this guide, as well as the library catalog for books and films.

For more on how to search, see the Search Tips & Tutorials page of this guide.

Find Background & Context

Find Secondary Sources

Databases can contain a combination of full-text (ready to read online) and citation information that can lead you to articles, book chapters, or books. It's always a good idea to search in more than one database. Even when there is considerable overlap in content, the different features of each database can help you find different sources. Check out our full Database A-Z list and sort by Subject to find other databases for your topic. (For example, Cinema & Media Studies for film history, or Women & Gender Studies for gender-related topics.)

Search the full text of these individual journals:

Find Books in the Catalog

 

Note: You can change Entire Library to Online to see only materials available online.

Catalog Search Tips

Start with a keyword search. Once you find a book that's relevant to your topic, click on the title and look for the Subjects listed for that book to help you find "more like this" and explore related aspects of a broader topic.

Example: Keyword search: immigra* AND "chinese americans"

Subject terms for the books that come up in this keyword search lead you to many more books on aspects of the topic, for example:

United States -- Emigration and immigration -- History

Chinese Americans -- History

China -- Emigration and Immigration

Asian Americans

Ethnic neighborhoods -- United States

(For tips on keyword searching, such as using the asterisk * for wildcard searching, see the Search Tips & Tutorials page of this guide.)

Find Digitized Primary Sources

The American Historical Association has put together this page on finding and evaluating archival resources that can be a good start for your search: Finding and Evaluating Archives

Historical Newspaper Collections

Borrowing from Elsewhere

owl mail

Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley?

Use Interlibrary Loan to request directly from libraries worldwide.