Reference sources (like encyclopedias and dictionaries, including Wikipedia) are a great source for background or contextual information on a topic. These reference sources provide scholarly background information on folk tales specifically:
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales
Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature by Welcome to the library research guide for AMST/EDUC 102. If you need help identifying sources, citing them, or anything else, feel free to make an appointment to chat with one of us! If none of the times you can find work for you, email Sarah.
Origin stories: Who is asking and answering the types of questions I am exploring for this short paper assignment?
If you're interested in seeing what literature or film scholars have to say about Disney films (or about your chosen film in particular), you might want to search in a literature or film database like these.
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on gender, sex, and sexuality in history, sociology, psychology, education, art, and more.
Scholarly articles on literature, languages, linguistics, film, folklore, and rhetoric, from all cultures.
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of American and Canadian history, prehistory to present and searchable by historical time period.
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
Scholarly and popular articles and book chapters on film and television history, theory, writing, production, cinematography, reviews, and more. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present.
Scholarly journal articles and magazine articles in the fields of communications, mass media, journalism, television, film, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, and advertising.
Articles on film and television from scholarly and popular film journals as well as a selection of encyclopedia articles and other reference sources.
