Skip to Main Content

Wellesley College Research Guides

Wellesley Home | Library & Technology Services | Research Guides

AMERICAN STUDIES: Context & Overviews

Photo courtesy of wallyg on Flickr.com. Used under Creative Commons License.

Reference collections

Search multiple reference sources at once

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for a variety of subject areas.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search 500+ reference works in all disciplines

Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Current, peer-reviewed research, across 25 encyclopedias.
Trial access through December 20, 2024. Please send your feedback to Laura O'Brien at lobrien@wellesley.edu

Reference Sources

Provide a general overview of your topic
Often written by scholars in the field
Can lead you to other sources

Encyclopedia of American Studies [e-resource]
Published for the American Studies Association by Johns Hopkins Press, this open-access online encyclopedia covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present. Expanded and updated twice a year. (Also available through Credo Reference and in print [2001 edition] in Clapp Reference E169.1 .E625 2001)
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements [e-resource]
Also available in print in Clapp Reference HN57 .E594 2004
Encyclopedia of American Social History [e-resource]
Also available in print in Clapp Ref HN57 .E58 1993
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America [e-resource]
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture [e-resource]
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History [e-resource]
Oxford African American Studies Center [e-resource]
Comprehensive source on all aspects of the African American experience from American colonial times to the present.
Asian American History and Culture: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Clapp Ref E184.A75 A8287 2010
Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia [e-resource]
Publication Date: 2006

Subject Guide

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

781-283-3372
kstorz@wellesley.edu

Research & Instruction Librarian
Office: Clapp Library 218B

Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences, Comparative Literature, East Asian Languages & Cultures, East Asian Studies, English, German & German Cultural Studies, Italian Studies, Latin American Studies, Portuguese, Russian & Russian Area Studies, Spanish