Library Research Guides: AFR 380: Violence in the Black Atlantic World: Start Here

Welcome!

This guide provides some useful starting places and strategies for doing research for this course. I'm happy to help! Reach out to me about any aspect of your research, from developing a research question to finding, evaluating, and citing sources. Email me or make a calendar Zoom appointment.

Karen Storz, Research & Instruction Librarian

SuperSearch

SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.

Because SuperSearch contains so much content from so many different kinds of sources, the results can sometimes be overwhelming and hard to focus. At the same time, SuperSearch is also not comprehensive and can miss key sources. To search with more focus, precision, and depth, be sure to try the databases recommended on this guide, as well as the library catalog for books and films.

[Back to Top]

Find Background & Context

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Thousands of articles by scholars in the field, with primary source documents, maps, and images. Includes in-depth articles on countries of Africa and the Diaspora.

The Atlantic World, 1450-2000 (e-book) by Toyin Falola (Editor); Kevin D. Roberts (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008
Provides an overview of the Atlantic world since the 15th century, including contact with Europeans in Africa and the Americas, the slave trade, gender and race in the early Atlantic world, independence movements in Africa, Caribbean nationalism, and more.
Encyclopedia of Free Blacks and People of Color in the Americas (e-book)
Publication Date: 2012
Nearly 400 articles on major events, issues, and concepts relevant to the free black community in the United States from the colonial period to the Civil War and in the rest of the Western Hemisphere from the late 1400s to the late 1800s.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History (e-book)
Publication Date: 2006
Over 2,300 articles provide authoritative information about Black history, figures, and accomplishments throughout the Americas.
African Caribbeans: A Reference Guide (e-book)
Publication Date: 2003
Provides historical and cultural surveys of the Black experience in the Caribbean, with each chapter focused on a country, island, or group of islands.
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: Race (e-book)
Publication Date: 2013
36 thematic and 29 topical essays focus on how concepts of race in the South have influenced its history, art, politics, and culture.

[Back to Top]

AFR 380: Violence in the Black Atlantic World

Related Guides

Your Research Librarian

Welcome!

SuperSearch

Find Background & Context