Library Research Guides: AFR 242/REL 214: New World Afro-Atlantic Religions & Cultures: Context & Overviews

Why Use Reference Materials?

Encyclopedia of African Religion [e-book]
Publication Date: 2009
A comprehensive collection of essays, discourses, ideas, and concepts in African religion.
African American Religious Cultures [e-book]
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture (e-book)
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History [e-book]
Publication Date: 2006
Over 2,300 articles provide authoritative and comprehensive information about Black history, figures, and accomplishments throughout the Americas.
The Encyclopedia of Caribbean Religions
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Religion in America [e-book]
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions [e-book]
Publication Date: 2001
Articles on many religions and religious practices, with good bibliographies for further reading. May be borrowed from the Internet Archive Lending Library for one hour at a time

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Encyclopedia edited by Cornel West with articles on religion. May be borrowed from the Internet Archive Lending Library for one hour at a time

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Includes Africana Encyclopedia, the Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought, the Encyclopedia of African American History, and much more.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Search across all available subject areas, including African Studies and African American Studies. To search just African Studies and African American Studies, go to the Advanced Search, enter your search, and check the appropriate boxes under "Show Results From." Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship across a wide variety of topics.
Oxford Bibliographies: African Studies This link opens in a new window
Research guides on a variety of topics within African Studies. Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship within specialized topics.
Oxford Bibliographies: African American Studies This link opens in a new window
Research guides on a variety of topics within African American Studies. Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship within specialized topics.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search 500+ reference works in all disciplines.