Library Research Guides: SPAN 279/LAST 279: Female Fashion in Colonial Latin America: Home

Calendario de las señoritas megicanas para el año 1838
Digitized full text of the 1838 calendario published by Mariano Galván

Research on Calendarios

Mexicanos en su tinta : calendarios by Isabel Quiñónez (e-book)
Traces the development of the calendarios and their publishers from their 17th-century origins to 1900.

Mexican National Identity by William H. Beezley
Explores almanacs as well as independence festivals, children's games, and itinerant puppet theaters in 19th century Mexico.

Presentación: Calendario de las señoritas mexicanas

Panel discussion about several editions of the Calendario de las señoritas mexicanas held at the Feria Internacional del Libro de Guadalajara in 2014. Add captions (under CC) or change playback speed (under settings).

Latin American Material Culture

Latin American Textualities: History, Materiality, and Digital Media (e-book)
(2018)

Related Guides

Fashion and Costume History
by Brooke Henderson Last Updated Jun 7, 2023 236 views this year
LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES
by Karen Storz Last Updated Jan 24, 2024 19 views this year
SPANISH
by Karen Storz Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 139 views this year
HISTORY
by Sarah Moazeni Last Updated Feb 28, 2024 39 views this year
Primary Sources - History
by Sarah Moazeni Last Updated Feb 29, 2024 597 views this year

Starting Your Research

SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.

Key Databases for Scholarly Sources

Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
This is a selective annotated bibliography of articles, book chapters, and papers on Latin American life and culture.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles, books, and book chapters on world literatures and related fields. Use the "Find it! @Wellesley" link to get the full text. If we don't have it, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on world history from 1450, excluding US & Canada, written since 1955. Can be co-searched with America: History & Life
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture articles, prehistory to present, written from 1955 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.

Historical Documents and Images

American Indian Histories and Cultures This link opens in a new window
Documents relating to American Indian history in the US, Canada and Mexico, including treaties, speeches and diaries, historic maps and travel journals, and artwork.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Material in the collection spans across the globe and over five centuries, from the explorations of Columbus and other Europeans, through to de-colonisation in the second half of the 20th century and debates over American Imperialism.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
Broad range of materials exploring the history of fifteen major commodities, including cotton, fur, and silver and gold. You can filter by commodity, date, and region to explore documents relevant to themes of this course.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of art, architecture, and other forms of visual culture from around the world, from museums, archaeology, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference works, dating from B.C.E. to present. (Requires creation of an Artstor account to download images.)

Museum Collections

American Museum of Natural History, Division of Anthropology: Textile Collection (New York)
Searchable database with handwritten descriptive information (manuscript catalog & tag/textile cards) about each item. For example, search for “huipil.”
Indigenous Americas Collection at the Textile Museum (The George Washington University)
Latin American Art Collection at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Use the Chronology menu to narrow to a particular time period.
Spanish Colonial Art & 19th Century Art at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art
"Presents the artistic achievements of Latin America, from Columbus’s first encounter with the people of the Caribbean through the region’s independence movements and the subsequent formation of nation states."
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History Anthropology Collection
Use the "Search by Field" tab to search the collections by object type (huipil, rebozo), geographic names (Bolivia, Oaxaca), or culture (Zapotec, Mixtec). Check the box to limit to results with images.

Selected Books on Women & Colonial Latin America

Women Through Women's Eyes: Latin American Women in Nineteenth-Century Travel Accounts
The Women of Colonial Latin America by Susan Migden Socolow
Traces the effects of conquest, colonization, and settlement on colonial women
Women in Colonial Latin America, 1526 To 1806: Texts and Contexts
Primary source documents and contextualizing essays. Includes a section on colonial cross-dressing. (2018)
Mexican National Identity: Memory, Innuendo, and Popular Culture by William H. Beezley
Explores almanacs, independence festivals, children's games, and itinerant puppet theaters in 19th century Mexico.

Fashion History & Theory

Fashion as Communication by Malcolm Barnard
(2002)
Global Textile Encounters (e-book)
This collection explores three significant textile and clothing cultures: China, India and Europe, and how fashions and traditions have travelled through space and time.(2014)