This is the "Home" page of the "Data" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Data  

Last Updated: Jul 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wellesley.edu/data Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

WELCOME

Census

Photo by Valerie Renee used under a Creative Commons license.

Use this guide to find:

  • raw data
  • which you can manipulate
  • using r, SPSS, or Stata

If you want:

  • pre-defined or summary data
  • formatted into a table
  • sometimes available for Excel

use the statistics research guide.

 

RELATED GUIDES

Northwestern University's Data Guide

Maps & Geographic Data
by Megan Brooks, Carolin Ferwerda, Meghan Gamsby - Last Updated Jul 11, 2014
218 views this year
Statistics
by Megan Brooks - Last Updated Jul 11, 2014
83 views this year

SPOTLIGHT ON...

Sunlight Foundation

  • Influence Explorer
    Search and download campaign finance, lobbying, earmark, contractor misconduct and federal spending data.

SPOTLIGHT ON...

Academic Torrents

  • Browse Datasets
    Use your favorite torrent client to upload and download datasets.
  • Browse Papers
    Use your favorite torrent client to upload and download papers.

START HERE

DATABASES OF DATA

  • Historical Statistics of the United States
    U.S. statistics from over 1000 sources; all tables downloadable as .csv and .xls; create customized tables and spreadsheets. Mostly national, not much state data.
  • International Financial Statistics Online
    itemized financial data from 1948 for more than 200 countries. Data can be downloaded in Excel, tabbed text, etc.
  • OECD iLibrary
    Select the "Statistics" option. Create your own tables by working through a series of menus. You select the variables, countries, and time period. Variables are mostly economic, but include some agriculture, education, migration, and health. Resulting tables can be downloaded as Excel files (.xls) or comma delimited ascii files (.csv). Some older data may be missing, depending on the year and country selected. Note that Wellesley only has a subscription to the OECD databases, not the IEA data.
  • United Nations Statistical Database
    Select UN Data. 450+ statistical series from international data sources. Economic, social, financial and development topics. 1945+ . Click on "definitions" for a description of the series (variable).
  • World Development Indicators (WDI)
    Includes more than 500 time series indicators for 207 countries plus regional and income groups; retrieves and exports the data in popular spreadsheet formats. 1960+ .
  • data.gov
    access to high value, machine readable data sets generated by the Executive Branch of the US government.
  • Murray Research Archive Original Collection Dataverse
    at Harvard University - use requires an Application for the Use of Data
 

MORE ON ICPSR

ICPSR Logo

Wellesley is a member of the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). ICPSR maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data.

ICPSR data can only be downloaded if you are on campus. Most data can be downloaded directly from any campus computer, although some data is only available via CD-ROM. CD-ROMs are in the Wellesley College Library catalog; search by study title. If we do not have the CD-ROM, contact Carolin Ferwerda to request the data.

Find and Analyze Data

Get Help

Various classes, open to Wellesley faculty, staff, and students, are offered every summer through the Summer Program in Quantitative Methods at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor.

The Online Learning Center provides instructional datasets, as well as exercises for classroom use, information about useful Web sites, and related publications.

For more information about ICPSR, contact Carolin Ferwerda, Official Representative to ICPSR.

 

DATA CENTERS

State Data Centers

The SDCs are a partnership with the U.S. Census Bureau. You may be able to get state or local data from the respective SDC in a form that is not compiled/produced by the Census Bureau.

As members of the Massachusetts State Data Center, Wellesley College users have access to customized data extrapolations pertaining to locations in Massachusetts. Please contact Megan Brooks, Director of Research Services, for further help or contact the Massachusetts State Data Center directly. 

International Data Centers

RESEARCH LIBRARIAN

Profile Image
Megan Brooks
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Phone: 781-283-3512
Send Email
Reference Desk Hours:
Spring 2014
Mon 2:30-4:30
Tue 12:30-2:30
Wed 10:30-12:30
Those times don't work?
Schedule an Appointment

INSTRUCTIONAL TECHNOLOGIST

Profile Image
Carolin Ferwerda
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip