Skip to main content
Research Guides

Resources for Singers: Musical Theater

Call Numbers for Musical Theatre

M1500 Musicals - full score
M1503 Musicals - vocal scores
M1507 Anthologies of songs
M1508 Musicals - vocal selections

Background, Plots, Characters

Internet Broadway Database - provides details of Broadway productions"from the beginnings of New York theatre until today." Complete cast lists, song lists, production credits and history.

A Chronology of American Musical Theater, by Richard C. Norton
ML1711.8.N3 N67 2002
A comprehensive survey of popular American musical theatre from 1850 to 2001, with coverage of selected productions from 1750 to 1850.

The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre, by Kurt Gänzl
ML102.M88 G3 1994
This three-volume set covers the most productive people and the most produced works of musical theatre throughout most of the world for the last 150 years.

American Song : The Complete Musical Theatre Companion, by Ken Bloom
ML128.M78 B6 1985
Includes extensive data on over 4,800 American musicals from  1877-1995.

 

Types of Scores

Full score

A score that contains the entire musical, including the overture and any instrumental sections, with all the orchestra parts notated.

Vocal score

A score that contains all the vocal parts with a piano reduction of the orchestra part. Vocal scores usually include piano reductions for the overture and instrumental sections.

Anthology

A collection of songs from different musicals. Anthologies typically gather arias for a particular vocal range, but may also be organized around a particular era or genre.

Recordings

Musicals on CD in the Music Library - over 130 recordings, complete shows and vocal selections

Musicals on DVD and VHS in Music and Clapp Libraries

Your Librarian

Carol Lubkowski's picture
Carol Lubkowski
Contact:
Office: Music Library, Jewett Art Center
Phone: 781-283-2076
Subjects:Music