Library Research Guides: Alumnae e-Resources: Home

Public Library Access

Your public library most likely provides access to a variety of electronic resources, including some of the same ones to which we subscribe.

If you are in Massachusetts, these regional library networks provide information about remote access to electronic resources:

Wellesley College Digital Repository
Internet Archive
Scanned books from Wellesley's collections.
more...less...
Since 2008, Wellesley College has been contributing content to the Internet Archive project in collaboration with the Boston Library Consortium. To date, Wellesley has contributed over 2800 out-of-copyright books, music scores, College Archival materials, and other items to this project, whose mission is to provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.
Wellesley News
Scanned copies of the Wellesley News, hosted at the Internet Archive.
Wellesley Legenda
Scanned copies of the Wellesley Legenda, hosted at the Internet Archive. Covers 1889-1950.

Digital Book Index
Links to over 135,000 digitized books and texts from almost 2,000 publishers. Two-thirds of of the titles are available free in full-text; other titles are fee-based. Requires free registration.
Google Books
Search the full text of thousands of books, many of which have been scanned from the holdings of major libraries in the United States. Displays only excerpts of each book; use the "Find this book in a Library" link to locate a nearby copy.

National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
More than 3,000 free books online (in .html format). Browse by topic.

Project Gutenberg
Oldest producer of free electronic books (eBooks or eTexts) on the Internet.

JSTOR via MyWellesley
Alumnae can access JSTOR journals through the MyWellesley portal. Once logged in, click on the 'Alumnae' tab and scroll to the section 'Alumnae Library Resources'. Click the 'JSTOR for Alumnae' link. You will link to the JSTOR platform and should see provided by "Wellesley College Alumni Access" somewhere near the top of the page and can now search and access content. If you do not see that phrase, try a different browser or clear the cache and cookies in your current browser. Get help logging in to MyWellesley as an alum.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search engine that identifies scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, articles, and reports in all subject areas, linking to the full text, abstracts, and/or citations.

OAIster
Search engine to identify freely available, academically-oriented digital resources.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Nearly 10,000 free, full-text, quality-controlled, scientific and scholarly journals.
Espacenet Patent Search
International gateway for patent information from North America, Europe, and selected other countries.
American Chemical Society
Selected articles from peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences
Geosciences e-Journals
Articles from over 40 peer-reviewed, electronic earth science journals
Highwire Press
Free journal articles from prestigious scientific journals; typical embargo period is 12 months; occasional exceptions.
Top 100 List: Health Websites You Can Trust
from CAPHIS, Consumer and Patient Health Information Section of the Medical Libraries Association
Universal Digital Library
Search engine of digitized academic materials, in a broad variety of subjects and languages, from Carnegie Mellon University

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new window
Index to publications created by United States federal governmental agencies. Provides direct link to freely available [online] publications. Also identifies which U.S. federal depository library has received the item in question. 1994+

ERIC: Education Resources Information Center
Indexes journal articles and publications related to education, published by the US Department of Education.
USA.gov
The official U.S. gateway to all government information.

GovInfo This link opens in a new window
U.S. government databases. Access to federal budgets, congressional bills and reports, the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, economic reports, the Public Papers of the Presidents, Supreme Court Decisions, the U.S. Code, etc.

PubMed
Indexes over 16 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Includes biochemistry and related fields. Links to many sites providing free (and/or subscription-based) full-text articles.
Science.gov
Gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by twelve U.S. government agencies.