Skip to main content
Research Guides

WRIT 145: From Penelope's Loom to the Pussy Hat: Women, Art, Craft, and Protest: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to your library research guide!  Watch the videos on this page in order top to bottom and complete the form on the left as you go along to learn how to do research for your course project.

Use the other tabs on the top to access the library databases you're learning about as well as to learn how to cite sources for your bibliography.

I'm always available to talk 1:1 with you!  Click on the schedule an appointment button below my picture on this page and book an appointment by clicking on an available slot.  If nothing there works for you, email me! I don't put every free moment on the calendar and I'm happy to find a time that works for both of us.

Fill me out!

As you go through the videos, fill out the corresponding parts of this form and submit when you're finished. 

This is not a graded assignment, it just helps me better help you find the sources you need!


Fill out the form here.

Your Librarian

Sarah Moazeni's picture
Sarah Moazeni
Schedule an Appointment
chat loading...
Contact:
Clapp 218B
781-283-4021

1. What is peer review?

Peer review is the gold standard of scholarly work - it's the blue check of scholarly journals.  Many databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. Learn about peer review in this short video (from the University of Kansas Libraries).

2. Finding peer-reviewed articles on SuperSearch

SuperSearch searches through articles across all disciplines at Wellesley.  Learn how to search for peer-reviewed articles in it in this video.

3. Finding articles in GenderWatch

GenderWatch has articles, both peer-reviewed and not, on some aspect of gender or sexuality.  Watch the video to learn how to find them!

4. Peer-reviewed articles in Art Full Text

Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective have articles on art and art history going back almost 100 years.  Watch this video to learn how to identify articles for your research.

5. Primary sources on AM Explorer

This database has dozens of mini-databases with thematic collections of primary sources.  Watch the video to learn more!

6. Zbib.org - auto-citation generator!

Citation machine, easy bib, and other citation generators charge money, make you watch ads, and produce incorrect citations.  Watch this video to learn about a free and reliable generator - zbib.org!