Library Research Guides: LING 244: Form and Meaning: Find Articles

Key Databases

Search for a topic across hundreds of different journals and other publications

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Search the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences, 1973 to present. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search publications on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Use the Find It! @Wellesley links to get the full text.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the fields of communications, mass media, journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, communication theory, and advertising, with full text for over 500 journals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences (1898-present) physical & life sciences (1899 to present), and arts & humanities (1975 to present). Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.

Search Tips

Use AND to combine multiple concepts in your search. This will narrow your results.

bilingualism AND identity

Use OR to find different ways your topic could be expressed. This will expand your results.

(bilingualism OR multilingualism) AND identity

Use an asterisk * to find variant endings, or as a wild card. This will expand your results

(bilingual* OR multilingual*) AND wom*n AND identity

Use quotation marks " " to search words as a phrase. This will narrow your results.

"code switching" AND bilingual*

Individual Journals

You can search across all of these journals (except for Glossa) and more in the Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts database (under Key Databases on this page).

University of Pennsylvania Working Papers in Linguistics
Accessible 10-page papers published published by the Penn Graduate Linguistics Society. Open access.
Glossa: A Journal of General Linguistics
Open access journal founded in 2016.
Language & Linguistics Compass
You can also browse by section, e.g., the Syntax & Morphology section.
Linguistic Variation
Linguistic Inquiry
Older issues (pre-2000) in JSTOR.
English Language & Linguistics
Language
Published by the Linguistic Society of America. Older issues (back to 1925) in JSTOR.
Snippets
Publishes "notes that contribute to the study of syntax and semantics in generative grammar. The notes are to be brief, self-contained and explicit." Open access.

Other Web Resources

LingBuzz
An open-access repository of scholarly papers, discussions and other documents for linguistics.

One Perfect Source?

Your topic seemed so great! So why can't you find any information on it? If you're looking for an all-in-one source that addresses your topic perfectly, you might need a different approach. (From the North Carolina State University Libraries)

This video is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States license.

Use Google Scholar to Find Newer Research

When you find an article or book that is useful for your research, you probably know to consult its bibliography or reference list to find other potentially relevant sources. In this way, you're tracing the scholarly conversation backwards in time. But you can also trace citations forward to find newer scholarship that cites the source you have in hand.

Go to Google Scholar
Do a search for your source
Click "Cited By" to see works in Google Scholar that have cited your source

You can also search within the results to find only sources that mention a particular work or other keyword.

You can also try Google Scholar's "Related articles" link, which uses Google's proprietary algorithms to pull up similar articles.