Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Federal Publications
Featured Federal Web Site
This online portal provides an overview of declassification activity in and around the Archives, with input from the National Declassification Center, the Public Interest Declassification Board, the Presidential Libraries, and the Interagency Security Classification Appeals Panel (ISCAP).
About Wellesley's Federal Depository Collection
The Wellesley College Library has been a congressionally-designated federal depository for U. S. Government publications since 1943.
Our selection rate hovers around 30%. The federal depository collection serves the Wellesley College community as well as the general public. Although we are part of the 4th Congressional District of Massachusetts, our clientele is mainly from Metrowest Boston. Our primary collection areas are demography, education, Congress, and statistics. The Documents Collection maintains a balance between currency and depth.
- Holdings: All holdings of the Wellesley College Library are listed in our online catalog, with the exception of some Congressional hearings and some microfiche.
- Location: The majority of the Government Documents paper collection is housed on the 2nd floor of the Margaret Clapp Library, adjacent to the Reference collection, while depository microfiche is filed in cabinets located on the first floor. A few selected humanities titles are shelved at the Art and Music Libraries.
- Shelving: Most materials are shelved in the Government Documents area in Clapp Library according to the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification system; some are shelved in the collection according to Library of Congress (LC) classification. The Library Catalog record will give you the call number and location.
- Usage guidelines: Computers are available for use by the public in Clapp Library. Please read our Access Policy. All Depository materials are available for on-site use by the public; the collection does circulate upon presentation of an official ID. Access to the Basic Collection is available online.
Ask a federal documents librarian [not Wellesley librarians]