Library Research Guides: FREN 323: Liberté, Egalité, Sexualités: Home

Key Databases

OpenEdition
OpenEdition est un portail de ressources électroniques--revues (journals) and livres (books) qui a l’accès ouvert (free access), la plupart d'en français.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed journals, magazines and regional newspapers on topics pertaining to sexuality and gender identity, and includes the full text of many historically significant LGBTQ+ publications.
Dates: 1917 CE-Present
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on gender, sex, and sexuality in history, sociology, psychology, education, art, and more.

Primary Sources

See French Modern News & Historical News tabs for more primary source options.

Gallica
The digital presence of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. It contains millions of digitized newspapers, magazines, images, and sound recordings relating to France and French history and culture.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of art, architecture, and other forms of visual culture from around the world, from museums, archaeology, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference works, dating from B.C.E. to present.

Requires creation of an Artstor account to download images. This account also grants you off-campus access for 60 days. If your account is inactivated or you need to create an account, make sure to use a library link (such as this one) to get to Artstor so that you will be recognized as a Wellesley user.

SuperSearch & WorldCat

SuperSearch can be a great place to start to find out what's out there on your topic. SuperSearch will find books, journal articles, films, news, and almost everything else the library has — from popular to scholarly sources. You can use the filters on the results screen to improve your results.

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Use WorldCat Discovery to search and request directly from libraries worldwide via Interlibrary Loan.

FREN 323: Liberté, Egalité, Sexualités

Librarian

Student Library Research Award

Key Databases

Primary Sources

SuperSearch & WorldCat