Antoine Watteau, A Man Reclining and a Woman Seated on the Ground, c. 1716, red, black, and white chalk on brown laid paper, 24.1 x 35.9 cm (9 1/2 x 14 1/8 in.), National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C., https://www.nga.gov/collection/art-object-page.74176.html.
François Boucher, The Interrupted Sleep, 1750, oil on canvas, 32 1/4 x 29 5/8 in. (81.9 x 75.2 cm), The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/435738.
Jean Honoré Fragonard, The Stolen Kiss, ca. 1760, oil on canvas, 19 x 25 in. (48.3 x 63.5 cm), The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/436325
François Boucher, The Bird Catchers [detail], 1748, oil on canvas, 294.6 × 337.8 cm (116 × 133 in.), J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles, https://www.getty.edu/art/collection/objects/590/francois-boucher-the-bird-catchers-french-1748/. Digital image courtesy of the Getty's Open Content Program.
Nicolas Lancret, Open Cage - Girl in Landscape, first half of 18th century, oil on canvas, 28 3/4 x 23 5/8 in. (73 x 60 cm), The Barnes Foundation, Philadelphia, https://collection.barnesfoundation.org/objects/5756/barnes-collection-object/.
René Gaillard after Jean-Baptiste Greuze, La voluptueuse, etching and engraving, Widener Collection, National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C., https://purl.org/nga/collection/artobject/2984.
Jean-Antoine Houdon, La Frileuse, 1787, bronze, H. 143.5 cm, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, https://www.metmuseum.org/fr/art/collection/search/202614.
For signed, scholarly encyclopedia entries on all aspects of art, design and architecture, try Grove Art Online (available through Oxford Art Online) .
