Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Extensive Massachusetts data provided by the state includes political boundaries, locations of services and institutions, natural features, and more.
For criminal justice, it includes data like prison and police station locations, as well as demographic data.
Boston Area Research Initiative Dataverse
Boston area research data including topics such as 911 calls, homicides, and more.
City of Boston Open Data
"This website is powered by the City of Boston's GIS Team and contains all of our geospatial datasets. "
Data includes police stations, police districts, and more.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
"Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN)." Provided by ICPSR.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
MA Department of Corrections
Explore the "Quick Statistics", "Research Reports", and "Data Dashboards" for policy and data.
Data for Justice Project
"The Data for Justice Project is an initiative by the ACLU of Massachusetts that aims to make data actionable, empowering lawyers, advocates, community organizers, journalists, activists, and the general public"
Mass.gov - Legal Justice
Explore the resources on this government page relating to the criminal justice system in Massachusetts, including specific laws and policies.
Cross-searchable full-text archives of many news and cultural commentary magazines, including The New Republic, National Review, The New Yorker, Harper's, Commentary, Americas Quarterly, and the New York Review of Books.
Boston Globe, 1872-1989
Searchable full-text replica of this newspaper, including graphics and ads.
Boston Globe, 1980-present
Searchable full-text of this newspaper, including graphics and ads.
One of the largest collections of US newspapers, many in full text, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires from the 1980s to the present (dates vary by title). Includes The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.
Nexis Uni news sources
U.S. & foreign newspapers, 1980s to present (dates of coverage vary).
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses, 1960 to present.
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, 1995 to present.