Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Extensive Massachusetts data provided by the state includes political boundaries, locations of services and institutions, natural features, and more.
For transportation, includes data such as parking lots, park and ride, trains, ferries, and more.
MassDOT Open Data Portal
Data categories include roadways, accessibility, public transit, and more.
City of Boston Open Data
"This website is powered by the City of Boston's GIS Team and contains all of our geospatial datasets. "
Data includes existing bike network, electric vehicle charging stations, and more.
Data Common MapC
Transportation GIS datasets on Boston bicycle and pedestrian facilities, vehicle counts, means of transportation by travel time to work, parking, and more.
Boston Department of Transportation
Includes policies, programs, and future planned projects.
User-centered information about the MBTA system.
Boston Region Metropolitan Planning Organization
"The Boston Region Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is responsible for conducting the federally required metropolitan transportation planning process for the Boston metropolitan area."
Site includes studies on neighborhood and area transportation needs, bike and pedestrian studies, interactive databases, and a data catalog.
Boston Transportation Archival Records
Over 400 documents and images from Boston transportation history from the last 50 years. Includes photos from specific neighborhood train stations and old transportation maps.
Interactive tool that combines modern and historical US census and demographic data with an intuitive map interface, 1790 to present. Searchable by topic, date, and location.
Transportation data includes travel time to work, travel method, and carpooling.
Boston Globe, 1872-1989
Searchable full-text replica of this newspaper, including graphics and ads.
Boston Globe, 1980-present
Searchable full-text of this newspaper, including graphics and ads.
One of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires from the 1980s to the present (dates vary by title).
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to thousands of news, legal and business sources, including access to print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.