Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE (2007-present)
This resource is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam. The Encyclopaedia is a large-scale collective reference work that includes entries on religion, geography, ethnology, history, topography, culture and Muslims who have distinguished themselves in any particular aspect.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition (1955-2009)
A continuation of the Encyclopaedia of Islam First Edition. Finished in 2005, the EI2 is a massive resource spanning five decades of scholarship.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This title looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries.
Encyclopedia of the Qur'an
The volume assumes no previous knowledge of the Qur'an, Islam or Arabic. Technical terms are explained in the text itself and the style of each entry is designed to be as self-contained as possible.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
This resources is the most comprehensive reference work in this complex and diverse area of art history. This work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of books and index of journal articles on Islam and the Muslim world, 1906 to present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of art, 1984 to present (abstracts), 1995 to present (full text). The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new window
Articles on arts, crafts, and architecture, 1929-1984.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on world history from 1450, excluding US & Canada, written since 1955. Can be co-searched with America: History & Life
- Consult bibliographies or footnotes at the end of books and articles
- Email citations to yourself to save time and to stay organized.
- Note the location of any books you find in the catalog. Your research may be interdisciplinary and you may find useful books both in Clapp Library and in the Art Library.
- using truncation symbols (i.e. asterisk*) will work in most databases