Library Research Guides: HIST 383: Partition in History and Memory in South Asia: Start Here!

Context is Key

Try using a specialized reference work to get started with your research.

Encyclopedias are great, authoritative (I'm looking at you, Wikipedia) ways to understand more about a topic and find some places to look next.

Browse one of these works to spark a paper topic or use one to look up the context of a term or technology from your readings.

Encyclopedia of India
"The Encyclopedia of India meets this need, encompassing the history, cultures, geography, and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. "
The Encyclopedia of Pakistan
Accessible, informative, and easy to use, The Encyclopedia of Pakistan is a one volume compendium of information about Pakistan-its history, people, places, culture, heritage, politics, economics and much more.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and the Maldives
This book offers for the first time a comprehensive study of South Asia in one volume, analyzing not only the riches of the past but also the problems & achievements of the present, placing them where appropriate in their global context.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Rich historical content is partnered with coverage of the issues, countries, and people that are important in todays world, allowing for an assessment of Islams influence on all areas of human activity throughout the Middle East, Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas.