Library Research Guides: ARTH 328: Dining with Michelangelo: Art and Food in Renaissance Italy: Find Images

JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor)

JSTOR Images is one of the most extensive collections available for art and scholarship. Explore the visual side of JSTOR, including artwork from leading museums and artists, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs and photo archives, and other artifacts contributed by libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies around the world. Images offers many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

Find Art and Architecture Images

Google Arts & Culture
Online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums
Google Image Search

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Change "Basic search" to "Image search" in main search box

Davis Museum Collections Database
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
The British Museum
Art UK
Website which aims to show the entire UK national collection of oil paintings, the stories behind the paintings, and where to see them for real. It is made up of paintings from thousands of museums and other public institutions around the country.
Flickr.com
Browse Creative Commons images / Search for Creative Commons images / Search by color with MulticolorEngine
Domestic Interiors Database (Compiled by AHRC Centre for the Study of the Domestic Interior)
A free, open-access resource with over 3,300 entries, the database brings together representations of the interior from the 15th century through the 21st century. This database is unique in allowing researchers to study "the changing appearance and layout of rooms in a range of domestic buildings; the objects that furnished those rooms and the ways rooms and objects were represented; how people used rooms and furnishings; and how they thought about them."
LIFE photo archive hosted by Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
World Painting Index
Art Ref ND45 .H38
Index to Art Reproductions in Books
Art Ref N7525 .H48

Open Access Image Collections (images that can be viewed and downloaded for free, without copyright restrictions)

Remember - It is your responsibility to make sure that images you find fall within the public domain. Always check an institution's 'Terms and Conditions' regarding image use.

NYPL Digital Gallery
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
The Getty Trust's Open Content Program
Currently free access to use images from the collections of the J. Paul Getty Museum. Images from the Getty Research Institute and Conservation Institute will soon be added.
National Gallery of Art - NGA Images
Repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. More than 25,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
Wellcome Collection
This site provides access to over 100,000 high resolution images including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements from the historical holdings of the Wellcome Library in London. The images have been released under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) licence and can be used free of charge, with an acknowledgement of the original source (Wellcome Library, London).
LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art)
Free access to more than 20,000 high quality downloadable images of artworks from LACMA's encyclopedic collection.
Walters Art Museum
More than 22,000 items in the Walters Art Museum can now be viewed and downloaded online for free, without copyright restrictions.
Yale University
Free online access to high-resolution images from Yale's cultural collections.
Rijksmuseum: The Museum of the Netherlands
The Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam offers 273,000 images of its works through the Rijksstudio.

Subject Librarian

Brooke Henderson

Email Me

Contact:

Art Library, Jewett Art Center
Phone: 781-283-3258

Subjects: Art & Architecture, Media Arts & Sciences

ARTH 328: Dining with Michelangelo: Art and Food in Renaissance Italy: Find Images

JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor)

Find Art and Architecture Images

Open Access Image Collections (images that can be viewed and downloaded for free, without copyright restrictions)

Subject Librarian

Citing Images