Library Research Guides: ES 204: Environmental Movements in U.S. History: Finding Primary Sources

Using SuperSearch to find Primary Sources

SuperSearch can be used to find primary sources.

Put your search terms in and, on the results page, use the filters to select content types like video, magazine articles, and government documents:

If your research is about a specific time period, scroll down to filter by time, too:

Primary Sources

Selected Environmental Primary Sources

Greenwire

Comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy.
Dates: 1969 CE-Present

American Environmental Photographs
From the Library of Congress. The American Environmental Photographs collection consists of 4,500 photographs documenting natural environments, ecologies, and plant communities in the United States at the end of the nineteenth and the beginning of the twentieth century.

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest

Primary sources documenting a period of dramatic change, with a focus on music, politics, fashion, student activism, women's liberation, gay and lesbian rights, consumerism, and other areas. Materials include video, advertisements, pamphlets, magazines, government documents, posters, memorabilia, and more.
Dates: 1930s-1990s CE
This database will no longer be available after Dec. 31, 2025. If you have questions, please contact askus@wellesley.edu.

American Indian Histories and Cultures
"Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century."

National Agriculture Library Digital Collections (NALDC)

A collection and archive of USDA research, publications, and historical materials on agriculture, botany, nutrition, and rural development in the USA. There are 17 special collections including the Pomological Watercolor Collection, with thousands of digitized paintings of fruit and nut varieties (1886-1942), and the Smokey Bear Digital Collection dating from the 1930s.
Dates: 1890 CE-Present