Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Spotlight - ARTSTOR
ARTstor logo. Retrieved from Wikimedia Commons
ARTSTOR Digital Library is a database that contains more than two million images of art, architecture, the humanities, the social sciences, the sciences, and photography which span various cultures and time periods.
Webinars and Guides available to get you started
Find Art Images
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary research tool that allows you to search over 300 reference works simultaneously, including limiting to audio or visual materials.
Open Access Image Collections (images that can be viewed and downloaded for free, without copyright restrictions)
Remember - It is your responsibility to make sure that images you find fall within the public domain. Always check an institution's 'Terms and Conditions' regarding image use.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
The Getty Trust's Open Content Program
Currently free access to use images from the collections of the J. Paul Getty Museum. Images from the Getty Research Institute and Conservation Institute will soon be added.
National Gallery of Art - NGA Images
Repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. More than 25,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.
This site provides access to over 100,000 high resolution images including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements from the historical holdings of the Wellcome Library in London. The images have been released under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) licence and can be used free of charge, with an acknowledgement of the original source (Wellcome Library, London).
LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art)
Free access to more than 20,000 high quality downloadable images of artworks from LACMA's encyclopedic collection.
Walters Art Museum
More than 22,000 items in the Walters Art Museum can now be viewed and downloaded online for free, without copyright restrictions.
Free online access to high-resolution images from Yale's cultural collections.
Rijksmuseum: The Museum of the Netherlands
The Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam offers 273,000 images of its works through the Rijksstudio.