Library Research Guides: POL1 303: The Politics of Crime: Find Articles

Law Review Articles

Law reviews are journals that publish detailed articles citing key cases on a legal topic. They are an excellent source for locating the name or formal citation of a case.

Nexis Uni legal sources This link opens in a new window
Legal news, case law, codes & regulations, international legal materials, career information, European Union cases and regulations, various dates, 1790 to present.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
US and foreign newspapers, 1980s to present (dates of coverage vary). Also includes legal encyclopedias & legal analysis, federal and state court cases and statutes, and law reviews, 1789 to present.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Several legal and government collections including Law Journals; Federal Legislative Histories; the Foreign Relations of the United States; the Congressional Record; Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.; Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law; LGBTQ+ Rights; and the History of Supreme Court Nominations, among others.

Other Journal Articles

Law reviews are not the only place to find journal articles about legal topics. The following databases contain academic journals and articles on topics relating to crime policy.

Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, think-tank reports, working papers. Comprised of four political science databases, which can also be searched individually: PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service), Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Political Science Database, and Policy File Index
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture articles, prehistory to present, written from 1955 to present.
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of fulltext journals on policing, forensics, crime, terrorism, policy development, and criminal justice. Limit to peer-reviewed publications for best results.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Content covers criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Virtual Library collection.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
International relations and political science journal articles, 1985 to present.