Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals explore the expansion, accessibility and affordability of British and American working class tourism c.1850 to 1980, touching on every continent on the globe.
Documents from the 16th to early 21st centuries, including cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and illustrated content, from across the globe. Includes Western cookbooks of Chinese food and includes fascinating impressions of culture, gender, and more.
Including more than 36,000 printed works, this database contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America during the 17th and 18th centuries. Try searching China, Chinese, Canton, or Mandarin to start.
Women's diaries, correspondence, photographs, etc. from global travels in the early 1800s to late 1900s. Topics covered include: architecture, art, British Empire, climate, exploration, family life, housing, language, monuments, natural history, politics and diplomacy, race, religion, science, shopping, and war.
This database offers full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed 1820–1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed 1760–1900. Try searching China, Chinese, Canton, or Mandarin to start.
Searchable database of 150,000 pages of letters and diaries, drawn from journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings.
Monographs published in America up to 1819, including books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera, covering every conceivable topic. Try searching China, Chinese, Canton, or Mandarin to start.
Archive relating to the business operations of one of the oldest and biggest advertising agencies, along with complete account files of nine prominent brands. Also includes a selection of about 1,500 ads from about 115 brands/clients from the US market.
EEBO contains searchable and browsable page images of virtually every work printed in the English-speaking world from 1473 to 1700, as well as some items printed after 1700. Try searching Chinois, Chinese, and so on.
Manuscripts of European travel writing (in fact and fantasy) from the 13th to 16th centuries, focusing on the Holy Land, central Asia and the Far East. Original document languages include French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English.
Documenting missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters.
The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of articles originally published anonymously or pseudonymously in 45 major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor.
The Wellesley Index is now part of C19: The Nineteenth Century Index.
Full text of six leading women's magazines of the late 19th-20th century: Better Homes and Gardens; Chatelaine; Good Housekeeping; Ladies' Home Journal; Parents; and Redbook.
Covering 1606 to 1822, this collection consists of the original correspondence of the American colonial governments with the British government, and addresses 17th- and 18th-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world. Many full text newspapers are available as well.
Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Dozens of digitized newspapers and magazines like Scientific American (1845-2014), The Economist (1843-2016), The Illustrated London News (1842-2003), Leslie's Weekly (1855-1922), Saturday Evening Post (1829-2014), and more.
Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.
Featuring manuscript and early printed material, illustrated maps and documents, diaries and ships' logs, this collection highlights key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c.1420–1920.
Broad range of materials exploring the history of fifteen major commodities, examining how they have changed the world: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.
Material in the collection spans across the globe and over five centuries, from the explorations of Columbus and other Europeans, through to de-colonisation in the second half of the 20th century and debates over American Imperialism.
British government files on events and issues dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, beginning with the overthrow of the millennia-old imperial system, heralding decades of turmoil in the region.
Searchable full-text of core primary and secondary sources for medieval to modern history (with primary focus on 1300–1800) of the British Isles. Premium content (Calendars and Parliament Rolls of Medieval England) is not freely accessible.
Covering 1606 to 1822, this collection consists of the original correspondence of the American colonial governments with the British government, and addresses 17th- and 18th-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.
