Library Research Guides: SPAN 252: Making of Spain: Christians, Jews, & Moslems: Background & Context

Selected Reference Works

Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia by E. Michael Gerli (Editor)
Publication Date: 2002

Nearly 1,000 entries written by renowned specialists in the field focus on the Iberian kingdoms from the fall of the Roman Empire to the aftermath of the Reconquista.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (e-book)
Publication Date: 2016
History of Jewish-Muslim Relations: From the Origins to the Present Day (e-book)
Publication Date: 2013

Features more than 150 articles by an international team of scholars in history, politics, literature, anthropology, and philosophy. (Princeton UP)
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World
Publication Date: 2010
Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia (e-book) by Norman Roth (Editor)
Publication Date: 2002
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture (e-book) by Jonathan M. Bloom (Editor); Sheila S. Blair (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature by Janet Perez; Maureen Ihrie
Call Number: Clapp Ref PQ6055 .F46 2002

Publication Date: 2002

Limited borrowing of a digital copy available through the Internet Archive. Register for a free account to access the full content.
The Regions of Spain: A Reference Guide to History and Culture by Robert W. Kern
Call Number: Clapp Ref DP48 .K45 1995

Publication Date: 1995

Limited borrowing of a digital copy available through the Internet Archive. Register for a free account to access the full content.
The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature by Philip Ward (Editor)
Call Number: Clapp Ref PQ6006 .O95

Publication Date: 1978
Gran enciclopedia de España by Javier Arbués Villa
Call Number: Clapp REF: AE61 .G73 1990 (22 volumes)

Publication Date: 1990

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Tesauro de SIGNUM - finds synonyms & antonyms in Spanish
Diccionarios - La Página del Idioma Español
Specialized Spanish dictionaries in print: Clapp Reference PC4625
Spanish-English and English-Spanish dictionaries in print: Clapp Ref PC4640

Cross-Disciplinary Reference Collections

Credo Reference
Search 500+ reference works in all disciplines.
Oxford Reference Online

Over 400 full-text academic encyclopedias, language dictionaries, books of quotations, and other sources. Includes subject-specific titles from art, classics, history, law, linguistics, literature, media studies, medicine, performing arts, philosophy, religion, science and technology, politics, and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

a quick overview of a topic, often written by scholars in the field	definitions of key terms
suggestions for further sources (bibliographies)	vocabulary (keywords) for database searching

SPAN 252: Making of Spain: Christians, Jews, & Moslems: Background & Context

Why Use Reference Works?

Selected Reference Works

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Cross-Disciplinary Reference Collections