Library Research Guides: WRIT 139: The Story and the Writer: Find Articles

Search Tip

use synonyms to find all the ways your topic is expressed:

woman OR female OR girl

use truncation to find all the variations of a word:

diar* for diary, diaries, diarist

Key Databases

Databases contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books.

Literary Criticism

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association)
Use this database to find books, book chapters, and articles on topics in literature and related fields, in many languages. Limited full-text.
Literature Online (LION)
Literary criticism, reference works, and literary texts from 1600-present.

Historical Context

If you are interested in researching the historical context of a particular story, books (not just articles) can be an excellent resource. Try the catalog!

America: History & Life with Full Text
U.S. and Canadian history and culture articles, prehistory to the present
Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete
Use this database to find articles from scholarly & popular publications in all disciplines.
JSTOR
A database that contains full-text access to scholarly collection of journals that cover the major disciplines, including language and literature. JSTOR does not contain the most recent 3-5 years of many journals.
Project MUSE

Journal articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.