Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet African History Sourcebook
Direct links to primary source documents, links to sites with more information, articles and discussion, as well as educational websites. Covers ancient history to present.
Africa Since 1945 Sourcebook
Primary sources from Africa generally, South Africa, Kenya, Rhodesia, Zambia, and more.
Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980
British government files spanning 1948–1980 including previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events from the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime.
Searchable and sortable databases of the Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trades as well as the names of African people taken into captivity. Users can sort data on point of departure, gender, slave ship captain, and many many more variables. Site includes image galleries that contextualize data with historical maps, ship manifests, drawings, and more.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1994
English-language archive of translations of foreign scientific technical, and social science reports, radio broadcasts, news briefs, speeches, and more with an emphasis on Communist and developing countries.
African emphasis on labor, revolution, Communism, and news reports for the West, 1957-1995.
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
The documents in Confidential Print: Africa begin with coastal trading in the early nineteenth century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa. They then follow the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy’s defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence. Together they cover the whole of the modern period of European colonisation of the continent from the British Government’s perspective.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals
"Forming a prominent feature of British religious philanthropy from the late eighteenth century onwards, missionary societies served as employer and community to missionaries far from home." Missions went to the Middle East, Africa, South America, and Asia.
African Government Web Archive
The African Government Web Archive provides links to information from key African government ministries, institutions and organizations for the 51 countries in Africa south of the Sahara.
Digitized images of art, architecture, and other forms of visual culture from around the world, from museums, archaeology, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference works, dating from B.C.E. to present.
Requires creation of an Artstor account to download images. This account also grants you off-campus access for 60 days. If your account is inactivated or you need to create an account, make sure to use a library link (such as this one) to get to Artstor so that you will be recognized as a Wellesley user.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The historical map collection has over 87,000 maps and related images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific, Arctic, Antarctic, and the World.
Perry Castañeda Library Map Collection
Over 44,000 map images of the Library's 250,000 map collection have been scanned. From the University of Texas.
Colonial Film: Moving Images of the British Empire
This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online. African films include Sudan, Sierra Leone, Gambia, Nigeria, Ghana, South Africa, and more.
Hoover Institution Political Poster Collection
Over 30,000 political and cultural posters primarily from the mid-20th century, including hundreds of African posters.