Library Research Guides: ANTH 101: Introduction to Cultural and Social Anthropology: Start Here

Background and Context

Annual Review of Anthropology
Broad essays with extensive bibliographies.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Peer-reviewed encyclopedia articles on topics in Anthropology.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Annotated bibliographies for a variety of subject areas.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, reports, and commentaries on anthropology, ethnology, folklore, and archaeology.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and reviews in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of American and Canadian history, prehistory to present and searchable by historical time period.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles and book reviews of world history (excluding the US and Canada), 1450 CE to present and searchable by historical time period.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of international journals, conference proceedings, and other scholarly literature, with a primary focus on STEM and social sciences. Article references are included in the record. Search by author, affiliation, topic and more, and search to see who cited a particular article.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on gender, sex, and sexuality in history, sociology, psychology, education, art, and more.