In Haste with Aloha: Letters and Diaries of Queen Emma, 1881–1885
by
The Forbidden Book: the Philippine-American War in Political Cartoons
by
America in the World: A History in Documents from the War with Spain to the War on Terror
by
Full text of six leading women's magazines focused on social issues, women's health, family and the home, politics, and fashion.
A progressive, national weekly journal covering U.S. foreign affairs, local and national politics, education, law, literature, and the arts, from 1865 to present.
Full text newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority and Native presses. Filter by ethnic group and language. Dates: 1960-Present
Full text news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, historical photos, reviews, and advertisements from a premier British newspaper.
Millions of full-text books and other publications in many languages and time periods, but especially from the 19th and early 20th centuries
Digitized images of art, architecture, and other forms of visual culture from around the world, from museums, archaeology, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference works.
Dates: BCE to present
Primary sources from a library in New York spanning American history. Particular strength in the papers of elite white men, but materials include the papers of others as well. Dates: 1493-1945 CE
This database will no longer be available after Dec. 31, 2025. If you have questions, please contact askus@wellesley.edu.
Primary sources tracking forms of colonialism, empire, and imperialism, from the explorations of Columbus to recent decolonization, with an emphasis on the 19th and 20th Centuries. Dates: 1851-2015
This database will no longer be available after Dec. 31, 2025. If you have questions, please contact askus@wellesley.edu.Primary source materials from American and British travel agencies as well as travelers. Covers leisure travel as well as the opening of American national parks, medical tourism, religious travel, and more. Dates: 1850-1980
This database will no longer be available after Dec. 31, 2025. If you have questions, please contact askus@wellesley.edu.
A full text primary source archive covering world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions in the 19th and early 20th centuries, to 21st century expos. Includes official records, publicity, artwork, personal accounts, and artifacts.
This database will no longer be available after Dec. 31, 2025. If you have questions, please contact askus@wellesley.edu.
Archives, artifacts, and oral history video interviews on the involvement of military and civilian Americans in WWII, also including voices of individuals who emigrated to the US as a result of the war.
Dates: 1940-2017 CE
This database will no longer be available after Dec. 31, 2025. If you have questions, please contact askus@wellesley.edu.
Broadcasts, news agency transmissions, and government statements from around the globe translated into English, with a focus on Cold War issues and communist states.
Dates: 1941-1996 CE
Declassified primary source documents covering U.S. governmental policy regarding world and national events, including topics such as the Cold War, Vietnam, and 9/11.
Dates: 1945 CE-Present
To find primary sources in books, use the catalog to search for your topic AND (documents OR sources), or any other sort of source you're hoping to find (e.g., speeches, diaries, memoirs, letters).
EXAMPLES:
philippines AND speeches
philippines AND war AND (documents OR sources)
hawaii AND (diaries OR memoirs OR letters OR correspondence OR "personal narratives")
You can use WorldCat to search for books beyond Wellesley!
Can't find what you're looking for at Wellesley?
Use WorldCat Discovery to search and request directly from libraries worldwide via Interlibrary Loan.
Questions? Interlibrary Loan Guide
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay.
