Skip to main content
Research Guides

Wellesley College Archives: How do I....?

Research a Wellesley Alum

The Archives can help to confirm attendance or graduation of students.  This reference book will help to confirm student enrollment through 1912, but we have more recent sources available in our collection.

We also have photographs of and biographical information about many alumnae.  Finally, materials produced by individual alumnae can be found in our Class RecordsThese collections of student-created material are organized by Wellesley graduation year and contain classroom notes, photograph albums, scrapbooks, letters home, and class event materials. 

The yearbook, or Legenda, is wonderful resource for information about students and Wellesley activities.  The Legenda through 1950 has been digitized and is available online.  Copies are also available in the Recreational Reading Room.

Research a Campus Building

The 2000 book Landscape and Architecture of Wellesley College is often the best resource to use to start your research since the authors relied heavily on primary source materials found in the Wellesley College Archives.  The book describes the history of development of the campus chronologically by presidential administration.  In addition, the appendix contains a chronology which lists when buildings were acquired, constructed, renovated or destroyed.

The Archives also has a collection of architectural plans and photographs of campus buildings.  Some photographs have been digitized and are available online.  When searching by keywords, remember to select "Wellesley College Archives Image Gallery" in the dropdown menu.  Please contact us if you can't find what you're looking for; we have hundreds of photographs which have not been digitized yet.  

In-depth research will involve a trip to the Archives.  In addition to general folders of articles and press releases, we have often have correspondence related to the design, funding, and construction of buildings. 

 

Find an Image

The Archives has an extensive collection of historic images of the college.  Subjects include buildings, events, traditions, athletics, and students.

Some photographs have been digitized and are available online When searching by keywords, remember to select "Wellesley College Archives Image Gallery" in the dropdown menu.  Please contact us if you can't find what you're looking for; we have hundreds of photographs which have not been digitized yet.  If you need a high-quality image, just ask! The best way to tell us which images you would like is to note down the identifier which begins with "wca" followed by five numbers. 

CONTACT THE ARCHIVES

We welcome your inquiries!

Please contact us with questions or to make an appointment using Ask the Archives and include as much detail as possible.

Wellesley College Archives
Clapp Library, 4th Floor
Wellesley College
106 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02481