Library Research Guides: SOC 315: Intersectionality at Work: Get Started

Welcome

Welcome to the research guide for SOC 315: Intersectionality at Work! Here you will find sources that might be useful for your presentation. Please do not hesitate to reach out to your librarian with any questions!

Context and Overview

To find additional reference works in sociology, search in the library catalog.

Oxford Bibliographies: Sociology This link opens in a new window
Research guides on a variety of topics within Sociology. Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship within specialized topics.

Encyclopedia of Social Theory
It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand the strengths and weaknesses of all the key areas of the discipline.
Encyclopedia of Children & Childhood in History and Society
Examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare.
Encyclopedia of Population
Topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries, low fertility rates, immigration, problems of old-age support, the environmental impact of dense population; the press for expanded reproductive rights; and many other issues.

Best Bets

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology, 1952 to present.

Annual Review of Sociology
Excellent resource for an in-depth look at a broad array of topics.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences (1898-present) physical & life sciences (1899 to present), and arts & humanities (1975 to present). Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.

Student Library Research Award

Win up to $1000!

These awards were created to reward those students who take the time to develop a thoughtful, methodical, and scholarly approach to the research needed for their papers and projects, as well as to encourage students to develop good research techniques.

Find out more at the
Student Library Research Award site