Can't find the full text of the article?
Click on the 
button to see if we have the full text elsewhere. If we don't, you'll be directed to ILL (interlibrary loan) to request it.
This guide provides some useful starting places and strategies for doing research for this course. I am happy to consult with you on any aspect of your research, from developing a research question to finding, evaluating, and citing sources. Make an appointment with me!
Trying some initial searches in SuperSearch can be a great way to begin to explore a topic from many angles across a variety of disciplines and types of sources. Start with a simple search and scan the results, paying attention to aspects of the topic that jump out at you or resonate with you.
Because SuperSearch contains so much content from so many different kinds of sources, the results can sometimes be overwhelming and hard to focus. At the same time, SuperSearch is also not comprehensive and can miss key sources. To search with more focus, precision, and depth, try some of the databases and other resources recommended below and on the other pages of this guide.
Databases contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books.
Literature & Film
Scholarly articles on literature, languages, linguistics, film, folklore, and rhetoric, from all cultures.
Full-text scholarly journal articles and books on all aspects of literature, along with literary reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and topic overviews) and the full text of thousands of literary works from the 8th century to the present.
Scholarly and popular articles and book chapters on film and television history, theory, writing, production, cinematography, reviews, and more. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present.
Articles on film and television from scholarly and popular film journals as well as a selection of encyclopedia articles and other reference sources.
Multidisciplinary
Scholarly journal articles and books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years of many journals.
Full-text scholarly articles in all disciplines.
Use AND to combine multiple concepts in your search. This will narrow your results.
"romantic comedy" AND women AND film
Use OR to find different ways your topic might be expressed. This will expand your results.
comedy AND (women OR female OR femininity) AND (film OR motion picture)
Use an asterisk * to find variant endings, or as a wild card. This will expand your results.
wom*n OR feminin*
Use quotation marks " " to search words as a phrase. This will narrow your results.
"Pretty in Pink" AND (gender* OR wom*n OR female* OR feminin*)
Try a keyword search. Once you find a book that's relevant to your topic, click on the title and look for Subjects in the record of that book to help you find "more like this."
Sample keyword search for
leads to linked subject terms and more books related to this topic