Library Research Guides: News: Home

Access the New York Times

New York Times Group Pass
Wellesley now offers free access to the current web version of the New York Times for currently-enrolled students, faculty, and staff, but registration is required. You must be on campus to register; after registering you can access your NYT account from anywhere.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Reviews of academic books, media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education in all subject areas—humanities, social and behavioral sciences, and science and technology.

New York Times, 1980-present This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides current coverage, but only news and editorial content and only in html format.
Boston Globe, 1980-present This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles. Does not include images or ads.
Dates: 1980 CE - Present
Los Angeles Times, 1996-present This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles. Does not include images or ads.
Dates: 1996 CE-Present
Wall Street Journal 1984-present This link opens in a new window
Full-text news articles with a focus on business, finance, and economics. Note that articles are text only and do not contain images.
Dates: 1984 CE-Present

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia, many in full text. Mostly in English, with a variety of other languages including Spanish, French, Portuguese, and German.
Dates: 1980 CE-Present
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search 700+ U.S. newspapers in an easy-to-use interface.

ProQuest International Newsstream
Search more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal, business, and news sources. Includes law journal articles, legislation, regulations, court cases, company information, SEC filings, U.S. and foreign newspapers, and more.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
The past three months of hundreds of newspapers worldwide, in full image versions.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
African American, Latino, Native American, Jewish American & Asian American papers, 1959-present.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Alternative & independent press, 1970-present.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal resources, many of which are full text. Includes law review articles, legislation, legal analysis, statutes, regulations, court cases, court filings and documents, news, and more.

BBC Monitoring: International Reports
Foreign news broadcasts in translation, 1979-present.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new window
Broadcasts, news agency transmissions, and government statements from around the globe translated into English, with a focus on Cold War issues and communist states.
Dates: 1941-1996 CE
Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new window
Summaries in English of news from the USSR and post-Soviet press in Russia, 1949-present.