Skip to main content
Library & Technology Services
Search this Guide
HIST 252: The 20th Century Black Freedom Struggle
Writing & Citing
Middle Eastern Studies
Peace & Justice Studies
South Asia Studies
Women's & Gender Studies
Search for Topic Ideas
Oxford African American Studies Center
More than 8,000 articles by top scholars in the field, drawn from Oxford University Press reference works, with primary source documents and maps.
African American & Ethnic News
search the The Afro-American, the National Afro-American Ledger, the Baltimore Afro-American, and the Washington Afro-American, covering 1902-2003 in total.
Chicago Defender 1910-1975
Searchable full-text replica of one of America's leading African-American newspapers, from 1910-1975.
New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993
Full-text replica of this major African-American newspaper, from 1922 to 1993.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
content still being added (a work in progress)
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
newsletters, bulletins & journals, especially good for the 1960s-1970s.
Ethnic American Newspapers 1799-1971
130+ newspapers published by members of many of the most influential American ethnic groups in 25 U.S. states (content still being added)
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press Collection
20 significant newspapers, 1850s-1970s, many in Spanish, published in the US and Mexico - University of Arizona Libraries
Black Quotidian: Everyday Life in African-American Newspapers
Oral Histories & More
KZSU Project South Interviews
Recorded interviews & meetings in 1965 of black & white civil rights workers in the South, conducted by Stanford University's radio station (KZSU).
Civil Rights Digital Library
TV news broadcasts & many other primary sources, 1954-1964, from the University of Georgia.
Civil Rights History Project
Interviews with hundreds of activists from all over the U.S., from the Library of Congress.
U.S. Mainstream Newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
Searchable full-text of more than 1,000 historical U.S. newspapers, 1690-1922
Boston Globe 1872-1985
Searchable full-text replica of this newspaper, including graphics and ads.
New York Times Historical 1851-2014
1851-2007; more recent coverage in LexisNexis Academic News
Brooklyn Daily Eagle, 1841-1902
Chicago Tribune 1849-1987
Searchable full-text replica of the newspaper, including graphics and ads.
Los Angeles Times 1881-1987
The West Coast's major newspaper: the full-text replica from 1881-1984 includes graphics and ads.
News weekly, 1865-present
Washington Post 1877-2001
Searchable full-text replica of the newspaper from 1877-2001, including graphics and ads.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
NOTE: Access is provided through the Boston Public Library with a Boston Public Library card.
Boston Public Library eCard
Contains the Boston Post (1831-1922) and Boston Globe (1872-1922).
Courtesy of the Boston Public Library using a BPL eCard
get an eCard
Writing & Citing >>
Sep 13, 2018 11:22 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem