Skip to main content
Research Guides

Government Documents: Search Tools

.

Search

Search Tools

Most government documents are in the Wellesley library catalog or SuperSearch. These should be the first places you start.

  • Call numbers that have slashes or colons are U.S. government documents classified by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) classification system and can be found on the 2nd floor of Clapp Library, toward the fountain. For example: HE 20.3152:M 84/2/950-80.
  • Documents with locations that say Clapp Micro are microfiche and are housed on the 1st floor of Clapp Library in the long room with the microfilm, behind the open reserves area.
  • Call numbers that say C.E. or U.N. Sales XIII 2003 1 are international documents and can be found on the 2nd floor of Clapp, next to the fountain windows.

If you don't find what you want in the Wellesley Library Catalog or SuperSearch, try the following sources. Resources in each row are roughly equivalent. Access to "Resources for the Wellesley College Community only" is through the Wellesley College network; if you are not affiliated with Wellesley College you must be on-campus to use them.

 
Resources for the Wellesley College Community only
Resources anyone can use
General federal government publications

WorldCat - for all government documents cataloged worldwide

open WorldCat (worldcat.org)

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications for print and electronic publications created by the Federal government. When available, links are provided to the full-text of these publications. Coverage begins with January 1976. New records are added daily.

Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. Clapp Docs Z1223 .A18 1895-1975 (and various indexes). Being digitized by U of Illinois.

Virtual CD-ROM / Floppy Disk Library from the Indiana University Bloomington. Provides public access and preservation services for the nearly 5,000 CD-ROMs, DVDs, and floppy disks distributed by the GPO.

International publications Access UN - for United Nations documents and reports, 1945 +

 

UNBISnet for United Nations documents and reports, 1979+

Congress and law

ProQuest Congressional - for U.S. bills, laws, regulations and some Congressional hearing testimony from 1988 onward

LexisNexis Academic - for federal and state court cases, the U.S. Code and state codes, and federal regulations, international legal materials and European Union cases and regulations

GovInfo - full text of legislative, judicial, and executive agency documents. Dates vary.

Thomas - Library of Congress; for U.S. bills and laws. Dates vary.

Legal Studies Research Guide - some databases only for Wellesley College users.

Statistics

Proquest Statistical Insight - for statistics produced by U.S. government agencies, international agencies, and private sources

Statistics Research Guide - some databases only for Wellesley College users.

FedStats - gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. gov't agencies.

United Nations Data

Search the Web  

USA.gov - searches for federal, state, and local government information; consumer oriented with links for businesses and visitors.

GovEngine.com - browsable directory of links to official federal, state, and local government sites.

GovSpeak - government acronyms and abbreviations