Library Research Guides: GERMAN: Find Articles

Find Full-Text Articles

Do you have an article citation, but need to find the full-text article?

Try the Wellesley College Article Locator!

1. Make sure to fill in the elements of the article citation in the appropriate fields, and click "Search".

2. If we don't have the article online, click on "Search by book or journal title" to see if we have it in print.

3. If we don't have the article in print or online, click on "Request the item" to obtain the article through InterLibrary Loan (also see tips on this page for Borrowing from Elsewhere).

Wellesley College Article Locator

German Search Tip

For databases that include content in both English and German:

...don't forget to search using both English AND German terms!

SuperSearch

SuperSearch is a great place to start for journal articles, books and almost everything else the library has, in one easy to use interface.

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide.

Key Databases

Databases contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books.

Arts & Literature

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to publications on literature, linguistics, film, and folklore, from all cultures, 1963 to present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and full-text critical analysis of authors from all genres and eras, including the contents of Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on film and television theory, writing, production, cinematography, reviews, and more, 1914 to present

History & Culture

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on world history from 1450, excluding US & Canada, written since 1955. Can be co-searched with America: History & Life
PAIS Index - Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
Articles chronicling the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics, 1915 to present, including policy-oriented literature of subjects such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations, the environment, demography, public health, science and technology, and reports and commentary on public affairs from the serious general press.

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database. Dates of coverage vary by title and go back as far as 1887.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Collection of key scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences & natural sciences, starting from the first issue but typically not the most recent 3-5 years.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 4500 journals in the humanities & social sciences in 40 languages, 1665 to 1995
Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Major ongoing international bibliography covering all aspects of classical studies from prehistory to the Middle Ages, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy. The online database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.

This resource allows only 2 users at a time. Please close your browser tab/window when you are finished.

Subject Librarian

Karen Storz

Email Me

Contact:

781-283-3372
kstorz@wellesley.edu

Research & Instruction Librarian
Office: Clapp Library 218B

Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Cognitive & Linguistic Sciences, Comparative Literature, East Asian Languages & Cultures, East Asian Studies, English, German & German Cultural Studies, Italian Studies, Latin American Studies, Portuguese, Russian & Russian Area Studies, Spanish

Database Spotlight - Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on world history from 1450, excluding US & Canada, written since 1955. Can be co-searched with America: History & Life

U Boote Heraus! [poster] (1917). Retrieved from Imperial War Museum Collections.

Historical Abstracts is the most comprehensive database to literature on history outside of the United States and Canada.

Comprised of about 700,000 citations of articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations in 40 languages on history since about 1450 of areas outside North America.