Library Research Guides: ENG 286: The Gay 1990s and Beyond: Find Background & Context

Find Background & Context (Encyclopedias & More)

You can search articles from multiple encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources in the following databases. Or search one of the individual encyclopedias or handbooks that follow the databases below.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies are research guides in a variety of subject areas. Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship across a wide variety of topics.
Oxford Bibliographies: Literary and Critical Theory This link opens in a new window
Research guides on a variety of topics within Literary and Critical Theory. Combining features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to top scholarship within specialized topics.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 100 reference books in all disciplines published by Oxford University Press
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and full-text critical analysis of authors from all genres and eras, including the contents of Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary research tool that allows you to search over 300 reference works simultaneously, including limiting to audio or visual materials.

Individual encyclopedias & handbooks

Queer Theories: an Introduction : From Mario Mieli to the Antisocial Turn by Lorenzo. Bernini
Publication Date: 2020
A short and accessible introduction to the complex and evolving debates around queer theories, advocating for their critical role in academia and society.
A Dictionary of Critical Theory (2nd ed.) [e-resource] by Ian Buchanan
Ranging from "abject" to "Žižek," short entries provide a concise introduction to concepts, theories, events, and biographies of major figures. (2018)
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory
Publication Date: 2011
Provides accessible entries on important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
The Cambridge Companion to American Gay and Lesbian Literature
Publication Date: 2015
This Companion introduces readers to the range of debates that inform studies of works by lesbian and gay writers and of literary representations of same-sex desire and queer identities. Includes a chronology and guide to further reading.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History
Publication Date: 2019
Provides a global view of LGBTQ history, covering significant figures and events worldwide.
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements
Publication Date: 2013
A cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, historical terms, events, and legal decisions. Includes a comprehensive chronology and bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered History in America
Publication Date: 2004
A survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, and more.

ENG 286: The Gay 1990s and Beyond

Your Librarian

Oxford English Dictionary

Find Background & Context (Encyclopedias & More)

Individual encyclopedias & handbooks