Library Research Guides: FRENCH: Find Articles

Key Databases

"Paris Exposition: Champ de Mars and Eiffel Tower, Paris, France, 1900." Brooklyn Museum. Flickr.com.

For searching with precision inside a particular subject area, try one of our databases below.

Databases contain a combination of full text articles (ready to read online) and citation information about articles, book chapters, or books.

Image credit: "Paris Exposition: Champ de Mars and Eiffel Tower, Paris, France, 1900." Brooklyn Museum. Flickr.com.

Arts & Literature

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find books, book chapters, and articles on topics in languages, literature (including film), folklore, and linguistics, in many languages, including French. Limited full-text, but use the Find It @Wellesley link to get the full text or request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies and full-text critical analysis of authors from all genres and eras. Mostly in English, but some French, German, and Spanish content.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers film and television literature (some in French) published from 1914 to present. Limited full-text.

History, Society & Culture

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, book chapters, and books on historical subjects (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles are in English, French, and other languages.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology, 1952 to present.
PAIS Index - Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and documents in economics, development, political science, and environmental studies.

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles from scholarly & popular publications in all disciplines. Articles are in English, French, and other languages.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Use this to find articles in selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the last five years. Some journals are covered back to the mid-1990s.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database that contains full-text access to scholarly collection of journals that cover the major disciplines, including (French) language and literature. JSTOR does not contain the most recent issues (previous 5 years), many of which you can find in Project Muse.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
an index to articles published in over 4,500 periodicals, in as many as 40 languages, and covering topics in the humanities and social sciences. 1665-1995
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the fields of communications, mass media, journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, communication theory, and advertising, with full text for over 500 journals.
Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
find citations of publications on all aspects of classical studies published in French, English, German, Italian, or Spanish

Other Guides to Try

Click on Browse Subject Guides or select one of the suggested subject guides below:

ART & ARCHITECTURE
by Brooke Henderson Last Updated Apr 15, 2024 341 views this year
CINEMA & MEDIA STUDIES
by Karen Storz Last Updated Apr 15, 2024 148 views this year
Primary Sources - History
by Sarah Moazeni Last Updated Feb 29, 2024 597 views this year
Primary Sources - Literature
by Laura O'Brien Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 329 views this year
HISTORY
by Sarah Moazeni Last Updated Feb 28, 2024 39 views this year
Music
by Carol Lubkowski Last Updated Mar 15, 2024 281 views this year
WOMEN'S & GENDER STUDIES
by Sarah Moazeni Last Updated Feb 28, 2024 61 views this year

French Search Tip

For databases that include content in both English and French:

...don't forget to search using both English AND French terms!

Database Spotlight - Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles on world history from 1450, excluding US & Canada, written since 1955. Can be co-searched with America: History & Life

Lire dans le Cri du Peuple, "Germinal" par Emile Zola : [affiche]. Retrieved from Gallica.

Historical Abstracts is the most comprehensive database to literature on history outside of the United States and Canada.

Comprised of about 700,000 citations of articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations in 40 languages on history since about 1450 of areas outside North America.

Subject Librarian

Laura O'Brien

Contact:

781-283-3497
lobrien@wellesley.edu
Schedule an Appointment

Subjects: Classical Studies, French & Francophone Studies, Medieval/Renaissance Studies, Theatre Studies, Writing