Skip to main content
Research Guides

WRIT 128: Writing About Food and Culture: Home

Food Encyclopedias

Explore topics in food studies and gather background information with these reference sources.

Search one of our reference databases for more background information and overviews of food studies topics.

Credo Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Oxford Reference Online

Featured Books in Food Studies

Welcome!

This guide aims to point you to some useful starting places for your research on food and culture. Please feel free to contact me for help navigating these resources or finding sources for your individual research topics. I'm happy to work with you on any aspect of the research process. Note: Menu Collections have moved to a separate page.

– Karen Storz, Research & Instruction Librarian

Starting Your Research

SuperSearch can be a great place to start to find out what's out there on a topic you're interested in. SuperSearch will find books, films, journal articles, news, and almost everything else the library has — from popular to scholarly sources. You can use the filters on the results screen to improve your results.

 

For searching with more focus and precision, try one of the databases recommended on this guide, or search the Library Catalog for books.

Find Books on Food & Culture

Catalog Search Tips

Try a keyword search. Once you find a book that's relevant to your topic, click on the title and look for Subjects in the record of that book to help you find "more like this."

Sample keyword search for

  • food insecurity

leads to linked subject terms and more books related to this topic:

Some useful subject terms for browsing food studies topics in the catalog:

Food -- Social aspects Nutrition
Food History Nutrition Policy
Food Habits Gastronomy
Cooking Cooking -- History
African American Cooking Sustainable Agriculture

Not finding enough, or found an item that's checked out? Search WorldCat and request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Don't know where to find a book in the Library? Check out this quick guide.

Some Databases for Food Studies Research

See our Databases A-Z page to find other relevant databases.

Documentary Films

Library Locations & Call Numbers

Quick Guide to Clapp Library Locations

Call # / Location  
Call Numbers A-DZ
Knapp Multimedia Ctr
Computer Classroom
First Floor
Computing Help Desk
Research Help Desk
Reference Books
Science Collection
Documents
Reserves
Second Floor
Call Numbers E-PM
PLTC
Third Floor
Call Numbers PN-Z
Archives
Special Collections
Book Arts Lab
Fourth Floor

 

How to find items by call number

Karen Storz

Karen Storz's picture
Karen Storz
chat loading...
Contact:
781-283-3372
kstorz@wellesley.edu
Schedule an Appointment

Research & Instruction Librarian
Office: Clapp Library 218B

Selected Food Studies Resources on the Web